Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

WEDNESDAY: Begich to Hold Alaska Field Hearing on Increased Arctic Maritime Activity


Representatives from Shell Oil, Department of Interior, and Coast Guard to attend
*Call-in and Live Streaming Details Available Below

U.S. Sen. Mark Begich, chairman of the Senate Subcommittee on Oceans, Atmosphere, Fisheries and Coast Guard, will hold a hearing in Alaska on Arctic shipping safety and reviewing the lessons learned from the 2012 offshore drilling season. The hearing will be on March 27, 2013 from 10:00 a.m.—11:30 a.m. at the University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA) Consortium Library in Room 307.

The hearing will also examine U.S. preparation for Arctic shipping more generally, with testimony from Alaska maritime experts, local communities, and conservation groups.  Department of Interior (DOI) representatives will participate in the meeting and will provide an overview of DOI’s high-level review of Shell’s 2012 offshore drilling program in the Arctic Ocean.  Shell executives and representatives from the U.S. Coast Guard will testify as well.

Wednesday, March 27, 2013
10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA)

Consortium Library in Room 307

*Dial-in Details:


Meeting ID 7813523

*Please note this dial-in number is intended for the media.  In order to prevent disruption during the hearing, members of the media who call in are asked to put their phones on MUTE.   If noise from the conference line becomes disruptive during the hearing, staff will be forced to terminate the call.  Please note that no questions will be taken from the dial-in line.

Live Steaming

Live streaming of the hearing will be available on both Sen. Begich’s website at www.begich.senate.gov and the Senate Commerce Committee Website.

Witness List:

The Honorable Tommy P. Beaudreau, Acting Assistant Secretary - Land and Minerals Management, US Department of the Interior (via video teleconference)

Rear Admiral Thomas P. Ostebo, Commander, Seventeenth District, U.S. Coast Guard

Mr. Pete E. Slaiby, Vice President, Exploration and Production, Shell Alaska

Ms. Helen Brohl, Executive Director, US Committee on the Marine Transportation System (via video teleconference)

Mr. Ed Page, Executive Director, Marine Exchange of Alaska

Ms. Eleanor Huffines, Manager, U.S. Arctic Campaign, Pew Charitable Trusts

Mr. Matt Ganley, Vice President, Bering Straits Native Corp.

Edit Module

Add your comment: