Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

SEARHC celebrates 8 years of tobacco-free campuses!


SITKA, March 29, 2013 — April marks the 8th anniversary for all SouthEast Alaska Regional Health Consortium (SEARHC) campuses going tobacco-free! On April 1, 2005, SEARHC made all of its facilities and grounds around the region tobacco-free. Asking employees, patients, and visitors not to use tobacco at the facilities or on the campuses, displays SEARHC’s commitment to protecting and improving health. Since this policy took effect, people are protected from secondhand smoke and employees have been supported to quit tobacco.

Tobacco use causes many health problems including heart disease and cancer. Tobacco-free policies protect people from secondhand smoke, reduce tobacco use overall, support healthy lifestyles, model healthy behaviors, and support quit attempts.

Other organizations across the state have followed SEARHC’s lead. Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium created a tobacco-free campus at the Alaska Native Medical Center just seven months after SEARHC went tobacco-free. In addition over the past few years, many tribes have passed tobacco free facility resolutions, Skagway, Petersburg and Haines adopted comprehensive clean indoor air ordinances and the Alaska Federation of Natives passed a resolution in support of statewide smoke-free workplaces.

Let’s celebrate the tremendous progress of improving the lives of SEARHC’s employees, patients, and visitors. Please continue to do your part in keeping all SEARHC facilities and campuses tobacco-free. For more information about the SEARHC Tobacco-Free Campus Policy, call 907-966-8745.

Edit Module

Add your comment: