Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Legislature Honors Nine Alaskan Servicemen Killed In Action


HCR 5 awards Alaska Declaration of Honor to recipients survivors

Thursday, March 21, 2013, Juneau, Alaska – Nine Alaska servicemen who made the ultimate sacrifice in 2012 were awarded the Alaska Decoration of Honor today, when the Alaska State Legislature passed House Concurrent Resolution 5.

The Legislature established the Alaska Decoration of Honor in 2007 and has since posthumously awarded it to 232 servicemen and women who died in combat or combat-related activity who are Alaskans or deployed from Alaska.  Rep. Dan Saddler, R-JBER/Eagle River, sponsored HCR 5.

“We cannot not take our freedom for granted; men and women in uniform around the world risk their lives, and sometimes bear the costs, for us,” Saddler said.  “Our pride in their service is tempered by sadness at their deaths, and appreciation to their families for their loss.”

HCR 5 awards the Alaska Decoration of Honor to the following individuals:

Dustin P. Napier, Jeffrey L. White, Jr., Thomas K. Fogarty, Brian L. Walker, Richard L. McNulty, Vincent J. Ellis, Nathan T. Davis, Carl E. Hammar, and Ethan J. Martin.

HCR 5 passed the House and Senate unanimously and will now be sent to the governor and the lieutenant governor for permanent filing.

Edit Module

Add your comment: