Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

House Acts to Extend the Alaska Minerals Commission


Saddler’s HB 99 keeps commission in place until 2024, sets term limits

Monday, March 25, 2013, Juneau, Alaska – The Alaska House of Representatives today unanimously passed a bill to extend the lifetime of the Alaska Minerals Commission. The Commission was created in 1986 to recommendation ways to streamline and aide in developing the state’s mineral resources.

House Bill 99, sponsored by Representative Dan Saddler, extends the Commission until 2024 and ensures relevancy and accountability of the Commission by adding appointee terms and term limits.

“The Alaska Minerals Commission serves a valuable role and should be allowed to continue its good work in addressing obstacles to mineral development in Alaska,” Saddler, R-JBER/Eagle River, said. “Mining is a part of our state’s heritage, and continues to provide jobs and economic benefits to communities and regions across the state. The Commission’s regional balance and expertise in various types of mining industries has helped us keep up-to-date on trends, address deficiencies in state processes, and continually adjust to encourage this vital sector of our economy.”

The Commission is made up of 11 members: five appointed by the Governor and three each by the Speaker of the House and President of the Senate. HB 99 institutes term limits, allowing appointees to serve two successive three-year terms.

Some of the key recommendations from the Commission implemented by the Legislature include: funding Roads to Resources projects, reforming state permitting processes, assuming state primacy from the EPA over wastewater discharge permitting, and re-establishing the Citizens Advisory Commission on Federal Areas.

HB 99 now moves to the Alaska Senate for consideration.

Edit Module

Add your comment: