Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Congressman Don Young Celebrates 40 Years in Congress


WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, March 14, 2013, marks the 40th Anniversary of Alaskan Congressman Don Young’s swearing in to the U.S. House of Representatives.  After winning a special election to fill the seat vacated by the late Rep. Nick Begich on March 6, 1973, Congressman Young headed south to Washington, D.C. and has been working for the great state of Alaska ever since.

Rep. Young at his swearing-in ceremony with Speaker of the House Carl Albert (D-OK), and then House Minority Leader Gerald Ford (R-MI) on March 14, 1973. 

“Alaska has been blessed with many wonderful things, from the scenic natural beauty to the abundance of natural resources.  But its greatest asset has always been the people that call Alaska home.  I am humbled, honored and blessed to be able to come to work every day and fight on their behalf,” Rep. Young said.  “Over the last 40 years I have told eight Presidents, thousands of Members of Congress, and government officials alike about the unique needs and aspects of representing a state like Alaska; large in geography, small in population, and far away from the halls of Congress."

“I have led the fight on behalf of the rights of our country’s Indigenous peoples, for responsible resource development, for a 21st century transportation system and for a strong national defense.  I have chaired two full committees, and have never been afraid to reach across the aisle to create personal relationships in order to advance sound policy.  During my tenure in Washington, I have had the good fortune of working with a strong Alaskan Congressional delegation to help solve Alaska’s issues and I look forward to continue working with them as the Congressman for All Alaska.”

Currently, Young is the 5th most senior Member of the House, and 2nd most senior Republican. On March 16, 2013, Congressman Young will pass Senator Ted Stevens as the longest serving Member of Congress from the state of Alaska, and will become the 42nd longest serving Member of Congress all time.

Edit Module

Add your comment: