Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

The Alaska Community Foundation announces 2012 board officers


The Alaska Community Foundation named the following officers to its 2012 board of directors.

Susan Behlke Foley was named as chair of the board. Foley is an attorney with Foley & Foley and has been active in philanthropic and charitable organizations throughout her career. In addition to serving on the ACF board, she has worked with many nonprofit groups such as the United Way of Anchorage’s Planned Giving Goals and Visioning Committee.

Blythe Campbell was named vice chair. Campbell is the senior vice president of marketing at Northrim Bank and has extensive knowledge of the nonprofit sector as a corporate grantmaker, consultant and policymaker. She is also a board member at the Alaska Kidney Foundation.

Kris Norosz was named secretary. Norosz is the government affairs manager for Icicle Seafoods and also serves on several nonprofit boards statewide, including the Alaska chapter of The Nature Conservancy, Marine Conservation Alliance, Marine Conservation Alliance Foundation, Alaska State Chamber of Commerce and the Alaska Airlines Community Advisory Board.

Bernie Washington was named treasurer. Washington is the chief financial officer at Alaska Public Telecommunications, Inc. and currently serves on the governance boards at Bean’s Café and the Foraker Group. Washington also serves on the United Way of Anchorage’s Community Impact Investment Committee.

Angela Cox was named first vice chair. Cox is the vice president of administration at Arctic Slope Native Association and has served as the acting director of the Arctic Slope Community Foundation.

Carla Beam assumed the role of past chair after serving as chair from 2009-10. Beam is the vice president of university relations for the University of Alaska statewide system, and is also the president of the UA Foundation. With experience that spans the corporate, nonprofit and public relations sectors, Beam has been recognized statewide for her leadership and philanthropic roles in the community.

Other ACF board members include Leo Bustad, Anchorage Neighborhood Health Center; Morgan Christen, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit; Kathryn Dodge, Cold Climate Housing Research Center; Rick Nerland, Nerland Agency; Alex Slivka, McKinley Capital Management; and Lane Tucker, Stoel Rives; and Don Zoerb, Mat-Su Health Foundation.

Established in 1995, The Alaska Community Foundation grants more than $5 million a year to charitable projects and nonprofit organizations across the state. ACF is comprised of over 280 component funds and endowments, including the Seward Community Foundation, the Alaska Disaster Recovery Fund, the Anchorage Schools Foundation, the Alaska Children’s Trust and many others. ACF’s mission is to grow philanthropy and connect people who care with causes that matter. The foundation helps individuals, organizations and communities create funds that  – like the Alaska Permanent Fund – provide financial resources to improve the quality of life in Alaska now and forever. For more information visit www.alaskacf.org or call 907-334-6700.


Edit Module

Add your comment: