Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Alaska Mining Hall of Fame Induction: Friday 3/23


23rd Biennial Fairbanks Alaska Mining Conference: March 19-24, 2012 In conjunction with the Alaska Miners' Association biennial conference, on Friday, March 23rd, the Tanana-Yukon Historical Society will be inducting 3 individuals into the "Alaska Mining Hall of Fame".

Learn about these miners and mining history through the stories of:

Glen D. Franklin (1913-2008), pioneer placer miner, college athlete and Territorial legislator;

Oscar Tweiten (1911-2010), the gentleman Norwegian miner active in the Fairbanks, Goodpaster, and Cleary Hill areas; and

Dr. Donald Cook (1920-2009), FE Company mining engineer, WWII hero, and UAF Dean of Mining and Petroleum Engineering.

The public is invited to attend this induction and learn more about these remarkable individuals in the Morris Thompson Cultural and Visitors' Center at 101 Dunkel Street (the intersection of Dunkel and Wendell) auditorium, at 7 p.m., March 23rd.

Edit Module

Add your comment: