Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

AK State House Maj. Caucus press release: Alaska Decoration of Honor Authorized (HCR 7)


Rep. Saddler’s HCR 7 Awarding Medal Passes House

Tuesday, March 29, 2011, Juneau, Alaska – Alaska servicemen and women killed in action since 2009 will receive the Alaska Decoration of Honor, under legislation unanimously passed today by the House of Representatives and sponsored by Rep. Dan Saddler, R-Eagle River.

House Concurrent Resolution 7, or HCR 7, awards the Alaska Decoration of Honor to 30 Alaskans killed in action between January 1, 2009 and February 15, 2011.  Established in 2007, the medal has since been awarded posthumously by legislative resolution to 177 Alaska military members who were killed in action, or in support of combat operations, from statehood through December 31, 2008.

“While it is my hope and prayer that there will never again be a need to award the Alaska Decoration of Honor, we know that freedom is not free,” Saddler said. “The cost is borne by men and women who risk and sometimes lose their lives in service. It is our sacred duty to remember and honor their sacrifice, and HCR 7 is one way to do that.”

HCR 7 awards the Alaska Decoration of Honor to the following individuals:

Daniel L. Hansen, Michael Boyd Alleman, Michael Lee Mayne, Zachary Ray Nordmeyer, Patrick A. Devoe II, Timothy Bowles, Jarrett P. Griemel, Brian N. Bradshaw, Justin Aaron Casillas, Aaron Eli Fairbairn, Nicolas Hugh Joseph Gideon, Clayton Patrick Bowen, Morris Lewis Walker, Kurt Robert Curtiss, Darryn D. Andrews, Michael Chance Murphrey, Thomas Franklyn Lyons, Zachary Taylor Myers, Shannon Michael Smith, Matthew Michael Martinek, Michael Shane Cote, Jr., Gregory M.W. Fleury, Julian Lee Berisford, Jason Omar Bradley Hickman, Joel D. Clarkson, James L. Miller, Christopher Eastman, Jaysine Petree, William B. Dawson, and Renee Sinkler.

HCR 7 now moves to the Alaska Senate for consideration.

Edit Module

Add your comment: