Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame Announces its New Class of Inductees


March 1, 2010

Sixteen women to be inducted at ceremony on March 5

ANCHORAGE, AK – The Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame will honor its second class of inductees at the BP Energy Center on Friday, March 5 at 6 p.m. The ceremony will honor 16 women who have made or are making significant contributions to shaping Alaska.

The mission of the Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame is to honor women, in perpetuity, whose contributions have influenced the direction of Alaska in any field, including the arts, athletics, business, education, government, health, the humanities, Native affairs, philanthropy, community service, conservation, adventure, theology, science, among others. Inductees range from contemporary living recipients to women whose contributions to Alaska were first noted years ago. This year’s inductees are as follows:

  • Alberta Schenck Adams
  • Alice Brown
  • Nora Dauenhauer
  • Bettye Davis
  • Hazel Heath
  • Shirley Holloway
  • Marlene Johnson
  • Georgianna Lincoln
  • Ethel Lund
  • Marge Mullen
  • Helen Nienhueser
  • Jo Scott
  • Tay Thomas
  • Peg Tileston
  • Elizabeth Ann "Betsy" Tower
  • Virginia "Ginny" Wood

The Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame is sponsored by Alaska Women’s Network, Zonta Club of Anchorage, the Anchorage YWCA, the Alaska Women’s Political Caucus, the Anchorage Women’s Commission and the University of Alaska Anchorage.

This event is free and open to the public. For additional information about the Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame, please contact Mary Whitmore at mary.whitmore@acsalaska.net.
Edit Module

Add your comment: