Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

ACVB Announces 2010 Board of Directors


Anchorage, Alaska - March 9, 2010 - The Anchorage Convention & Visitors Bureau (ACVB) announced the results of its 2010 board of directors' election. Twenty candidates stood for election to seven seats. The seven elected members are: Scott Habberstad, Alaska Airlines manager regional sales - Alaska; Ernie Hall, Anchorage Fur Rendezvous board president; Denise Hanson, CIRI Alaska Tourism Corporation revenue control manager; Josh Howes, Premier Alaska Tours Inc. vice president of safety and operations; Tim Melican, Magic Bus president; Steve Silverstein, Alaska Railroad vice president marketing, sales and service; and Toni Walker, Logistics, LLC, president. In addition, four members were appointed to the 2010 board. They include: Nancy Harbour, Alaska Center for the Performing Arts president; Susan Kaer, Ramada Anchorage Downtown general manager/owner; Keith Sopp, General Communications Inc. (GCI) director of media sales and marketing; and John Woodbury, owner/publisher COAST Magazine/AK Adventure Media.

ACVB's 2010 board officers are: Randy Becker, captain of the Seward Fishing Club, is chairman; Maggie Kelly, director of Alaska operations for Royal Celebrity Tours, is vice chairman; Scott Habberstad, manager of regional sales - Alaska for Alaska Airlines, is treasurer; John Woodbury, owner/publisher of COAST Magazine/Alaska Adventure Media, is secretary; Josh Howes, vice president of safety and operations for Premier Alaska Tours Inc., is immediate past chairman. ACVB President/ CEO Julie Saupe serves as a non-voting member.

The ACVB Board of Directors is comprised of representatives from ACVB's membership, including the public and private sectors. Ten membership categories are represented, including accommodations; activities and attractions; agencies and organizations; dining; entertainment; services/event, group meeting planners; services/professional; services/visitor; shopping; and transportation. Board members donate their time and talents to promote Anchorage to visitors for the benefit of the entire membership. The Board sets policy, guides ACVB and develops strategic plans for the future. Directors are elected by the membership in the last quarter of each year and seated in the first quarter of the following year to serve three-year terms; chairman-appointed members serve one-year terms.

For a complete list of ACVB's 2010 Board of Directors, explore www.Anchorage.net/752.cfm.

The Anchorage Convention & Visitors Bureau's (ACVB) mission is to attract and serve visitors to the Municipality of Anchorage as a Destination Marketing Organization (DMO). ACVB's marketing functions are funded by one-third of the bed tax collected by lodging associations. One-third goes to the Municipality's general fund, and one-third to service the bond debt and operations of the Anchorage Convention Centers. ACVB receives no state or federal funds. 2010 marks ACVB's 35th year of bringing business to Anchorage. Explore www.Anchorage.net for more information.
Edit Module

Add your comment: