Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Appointments to Boards and Commissions Announced


June 9, 2014, Juneau, Alaska – Governor Sean Parnell today announced appointments to the Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services, State Vocational Rehabilitation Committee, Alaska Health Care Commission, Statewide Suicide Prevention Council, and the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws.

Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services

Governor Parnell appointed Eugene Wiseman and reappointed Mary Leemhuis to the Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services. The council advises the commissioner of the Department of Health and Social Services and the governor on the planning and implementation of an emergency medical services system.

Wiseman, of Anchorage, is the rural emergency medical services district chief for the Matanuska-Susitna Borough. He serves as vice president of the Alaska Paramedic Association and is a member of the National Emergency Medical Services Managers Association. Wiseman holds a paramedic certification, is certified as a medical transport executive, and is completing a bachelor’s degree from Wayland Baptist University. He is appointed to a pre-hospital provider seat.

Leemhuis, of Eagle River, has been a registered nurse for 36 years. She currently is the trauma program manager at the Alaska Native Medical Center, a designated Level II Trauma Center. Early in her career, Leemhuis established a nursing assistant course for Native Americans and was an adjunct university nursing instructor in Oklahoma. Her experience with trauma and emergency nursing has spanned over 20 years. Leemhuis, a member of the Society of Trauma Nurses, Emergency Nurses’ Association, and the American Trauma Society, also serves as an instructor for the Emergency Nurses’ Association Trauma Nursing Core course and the coordinator for the American College of Surgeon’s Advanced Trauma Life Support course. She is reappointed to a seat representing emergency nurses.

State Vocational Rehabilitation Committee

Governor Parnell appointed Kenneth Schoenlein and Mary Elam to the State Vocational Rehabilitation Committee. The committee promotes employment of people with disabilities by creating statewide interest in the rehabilitation and employment of people with disabilities.

Schoenlein, of Willow, has been a computer programmer since serving in the U.S. Army, where he was awarded his Crew Chief Wings. He holds a computer programming certificate from Michigan. Schoenlein is appointed to a consumer seat.

Elam, of Anchorage, is the executive director for Stone Soup Group and former director of program operations for the Alaska Native Justice Center. She is actively involved in the Governor’s Council on Disabilities and Special Education. Elam holds a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Texas A&M University. She is appointed to represent a parent training and information center.

Alaska Health Care Commission

Governor Parnell appointed Becky Hultberg and reappointed Emily Ennis to the Alaska Health Care Commission. The commission serves as the state health planning and coordinating body, responsible for providing recommendations on a comprehensive statewide health care policy, and on strategies for improving the health of Alaskans.

Hultberg, of Juneau, is the senior vice president of the Alaska State Hospital and Nursing Home Association (ASHNHA). She previously served as commissioner of the Alaska Department of Administration. Hultberg holds a bachelor’s degree in history from Abilene Christian University. She is appointed to a seat nominated by ASHNHA.

Ennis, of Fairbanks, is the executive director for Fairbanks Resource Agency. She is the past president of the Alaska Association on Developmental Disabilities, and a member of the American Network of Community Options and Resources. Ennis is reappointed to a seat reserved for the Alaska Mental Health Trust Authority.

Statewide Suicide Prevention Council

Governor Parnell appointed Kathryn Casello to the Statewide Suicide Prevention Council. The council serves in an advisory capacity to the governor and the Legislature with respect to what actions can and should be taken to improve health and wellness throughout the state by reducing suicide and its effect on individuals, families, and communities.

Casello, of Anchorage, is a junior at West High School. She is a member of the West High Drama, Debate and Forensics Team, the National Honor Society, and West High Competitive Women’s  and Concert Choirs. Casello volunteers with the Alaska Police and Fire Chief Chaplains Ministries and is enrolled in International Baccalaureate courses. She is appointed to a youth seat.

National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws

Governor Parnell appointed Susan Pollard to the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws. The commission works toward the development and promotion of uniform and model laws across state lines covering a wide range of subjects, and helps promote commerce between the states.

Pollard, of Juneau, is the chief assistant attorney general and regulations attorney for the Alaska Department of Law. She previously served as senior assistant attorney general of the Oil, Gas and Mining Section of the Alaska Department of Law, and as a Permanent Fund Dividend (PFD) specialist in the PFD Appeals Division. Pollard serves as chair of the Holy Trinity Episcopal Church Building Committee. She holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Washington and a juris doctorate from the University of Oregon. Pollard is appointed as a member of the Alaska Department of Law.

Edit Module

Add your comment: