Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

MTA 2013 Annual Meeting Election Results


George Trabits and Al Strawn return to the MTA Board

Palmer, June 6, 2013 — MTA’s Annual Meeting was Wednesday, June 5, 2013, at the Alaska State Fairgrounds in Palmer. Approximately 500 people attended. Member-owners celebrated the cooperative’s 60th anniversary with demos of the latest products, dinner and door prizes.

During the business meeting, two directors were elected to serve on the MTA Board. Winning a three-year seat was incumbent George Trabits with 3,344 votes. Winning a two-year term with 3,275 votes was incumbent Al Strawn.
As decided by a special board meeting immediately following the election, Earl Lackey will serve as the Chief Governance Officer of the MTA Board. Catherine Fosselman will serve as secretary of the board. Rounding out the five-person board is Larry Wiget.
Cooperative members voted in support of the proposed amendments to MTA bylaws. The official election results are as follows.
Proposal #1: Correcting and Clarifying Miscellaneous Provisions

   Yes 3,564; No 297
Proposal #2 Updating Voting Requirements

   Yes 3,476; No 389            
MTA is a locally-owned communications cooperative, founded in 1953 to bring telephone service to rural South-central Alaska. Today, MTA delivers some of the most advanced communications products available in the marketplace, including wireless, high definition digital television with video-on-demand, high-speed internet, long-distance, an online directory and local service. The MTA service area covers over 10,000 square miles and spans the area from Eagle River’s Hiland Road to Clear Air Force Base.


Edit Module

Add your comment: