Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

President Obama Honors Outstanding Math and Science Teachers


WASHINGTON, DC -- President Obama today named  97 mathematics and science teachers as recipients of the prestigious  Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The  educators will receive their awards in Washington, DC later this month.

The Presidential Award for Excellence in  Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded annually to outstanding K-12  science and mathematics teachers from across the country. The winners are selected  by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following  an initial selection process done at the state level. Each year the award  alternates between teachers teaching kindergarten through 6th grade and those  teaching 7th through 12th grades. The 2011 awardees named today teach 7th  through 12th grades.

Winners of this Presidential honor receive a  $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their  discretion. They also are invited Washington, DC, for an awards ceremony and  several days of educational and celebratory events, including visits with  members of Congress and the Administration.

President Obama has committed to strengthen  science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education and prepare 100,000  effective science and mathematics teachers over the next decade. These  commitments build on the President's "Educate to Innovate" campaign, which has  attracted more than $700 million in donations and in-kind support from  corporations, philanthropies, service organizations, and others to help bolster  science and technology education in the classroom.

"America's success in the 21st century  depends on our ability to educate our children, give our workers the skills  they need, and embrace technological change. That starts with the men and women  in front of our classrooms. These teachers are the best of the best, and they  stand as excellent examples of the kind of leadership we need in order to train  the next generation of innovators and help this country get ahead," said  President Obama.

The Alaska recipients of the 2011 Presidential Award  for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are:

Stephanie Cronin, Seward (Math)
Joanna Hubbard, Anchorage (Science)


Edit Module

Add your comment: