Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

UIC Announces New President


Ukpeaġvik Iñupiat Corporation (UIC) is pleased to announce its new President, Forrest “Deano” Olemaun. Mr. Olemaun, a UIC shareholder, lifelong Barrow resident and whaling co-captain, has served on the Board since 2009, formerly serving as Chairman. Mr. Olemaun succeeds former president Anthony E. Edwardsen, who will continue to serve on UIC’s Board of Directors.

Mr. Olemaun joined UIC in 2009 as UIC’s Vice President of Barrow Operations. Prior to UIC, he served as Vice President of Operations for Arctic Slope Regional Corporation for 10 years.

UIC is also pleased to announce the Board’s Class of 2013. Anthony E. Edwardsen and Raynita B. Hepa were re-elected, and new to the Board is Herman L. Ahsoak.

Below are the new officers of the Board of Directors:

Chairman:                  Raynita “Taqulik” Hepa

Vice Chairman:          Doreen M. Knodel

President:                    Forrest “Deano” Olemaun

Vice President:           Herman L. Ahsoak


Corporate Secretary:              Anthony E. Edwardsen

Director:                     Fred S. Kanayurak

Director:                     Max E. Ahgeak

Director:                     Tara M. Sweeney

UIC is the village corporation of Barrow, Alaska. Incorporated on April 19, 1973 under provisions of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act, UIC has steadily diversified its investments and now ranks 8th among Alaskan-owned and operated companies (Alaska Business Monthly “Top 49ers”, 2009).
Edit Module

Add your comment: