Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Representative Tuck Named to Scholarship Funding Task Force


“I want to help find real solutions for making college and trade school affordable.”

Today, House Speaker Mike Chenault named Representative Chris Tuck (D-Anchorage) and four other representatives to serve on the Joint Legislative Higher Education Scholarship Funding Task Force. The newly created task force will evaluate how to best fund necessary financial aid and scholarship opportunities for Alaskans.

“Money is often an obstacle, keeping Alaskans from earning the education necessary for good jobs,” said Rep. Tuck. “I want to help find real solutions for making college and trade school affordable.” 

Representative Tuck has served on the Anchorage School District’s K-6 Curriculum task force, as an Anchorage School Board Member, and as an appointee to Anchorage’s Education and Workforce Advisory Commission. He is a current board member of both the Alaska Process Industry Career Consortium and the Alaska Joint Electrical Apprenticeship Training Trust.

The fifteen member task force includes 5 members both the Alaska Senate and the Alaska House of Representatives. The Governor appoints the other five members who include the commissioner of education and early development, the president of the University of Alaska, and the director of the state office of management and budget or their designees. The last two members include a member of the state Board of Education and Early Development and the executive director of the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education. 

Edit Module

Add your comment: