|  December 18, 2014  |  
Mostly Cloudy   19.0F  |  Forecast »
Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Feed Feed

National Women’s Leadership Summit To Take Place in Anchorage

Discussion Will Focus On Energy And Environmental Policy

Honorary Co-Chairs Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) and Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA) 
150 Women Leaders Nationwide From the Public and Private Sectors

The National Women’s Leadership Summit (NWLS), organized by the Louisiana Center for Women and Government, is a three-day bi-partisan gathering of the best and brightest women leaders who will participate in dynamic roundtable discussions about energy and environmental issues facing our nation.   

Thursday Night, Friday Luncheon & SaturdayPress Conference:  Anchorage Marriott  Friday Breakout Sessions:  Dena'ina Civic & Convention Center

Thursday, June 3 through Saturday, June 5

Established in 2009 to promote the different perspectives of women from across the country, the Summit has quickly grown to become a benchmark of the influence of women’s voices in public policy. The NWLS in Anchorage will focus on finding a pragmatic approach to balancing our energy needs while protecting the environment.   

The Summit begins with opening speakers on the evening of Thursday, June 3 followed by a full day of panel discussions and a luncheon keynote address by journalist Lisa Ling on Friday, June 4 from 12:15  to 1:45 p.m.  The summit will culminate with a closing presentation and media availability with U.S. Senators Lisa Murkowski andMaria Cantwell from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. on Saturday, June 5.  The Senators will review the results of the Summit discussions and incorporate them into their presentation         remarks about the future of energy and environmental policy.  Speakers include:

  • Kristi Acuff, Senior Vice President, Alyeska Pipeline Service Co.
  • Karen Billups, Chief Counsel, US. Senate Committee on Energy andNatural Resources
  • Megan Bloomgren, Executive Director of Strategy, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
  • Margaret Brown, CEO, CIRI
  • Elizabeth Cheney, Vice President, Upstream Americas, Shell
  • Marilyn Crockett, Director, Alaska Oil & Gas Association
  • Lisa Daniels, Founder, Windustry
  • Rayola Daugher, Senior Economic Advisor, American Petroleum Institute
  • Julie Estey, Business Director, Alaska Center for Energy & Power
  • Sara Fischer Goad, Deputy Director, Alaska Energy Authority
  • Phyllis Harris, Vice President of Environmental Compliance, Wal-Mart
  • Caitlin Higgins, Executive Director, Alaska Conservation Alliance
  • Sara Letourneau, Director, Labor Climate Project, Blue Green Alliance
  • Lesil McGuire, Alaska State Senator

Add your comment:
Edit Module
Edit Module
Edit Module
Edit Module
Edit Module