Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Governor Parnell to Sign Landmark Energy Legislation


On Wednesday June 16 Governor Sean Parnell will sign Senate Bill 220, the Alaska Sustainable Energy Act and House Bill 306, establishing a State Energy Policy into law at the Dena'ina Convention Center's Kenakatnu Board Room. Both bills were developed over the past two years through an extensive public process, which involved hearings by the Senate Resources and House Energy Committees in communities across the State.

Senate Bill 220, sponsored by the Senate Resources Committee, (Co-Chairs: Senators Lesil McGuire, R-Anchorage,  and Bill Wielechowski, D-Anchorage) also known as the "Omnibus Energy Bill" or the Alaska Sustainable Energy Act) contains a broad range of programs designed to implement the energy policy articulated by House Bill 306. With initiatives that range from a $250 million dollar investment in energy conservation at public facilities to loans for small businesses and from grants for emerging energy technologies to a revised permitting system for nuclear facilities, Senate Bill 220 transforms the input the Legislature received from the public from concepts to concrete solutions.

Sponsored by the House Energy Committee (Co-Chairs: Representative Charisse Millett, R-Anchorage, and Bryce Edgmon, D-Dillingham), HB 306 establishes a comprehensive statewide energy policy that includes both ambitious goals for the use of renewable energy and encourages the development of Alaska's nonrenewable resources. In crafting the bill, the House Energy Committee drew on the varied experiences and perspectives of a diverse group of Alaskans that were organized into a stakeholder group.

WHO : Governor Parnell, Senators McGuire and Wielechowski, Representatives Millett and Edgmon

WHAT : Bill signing for SB 220 and HB 306

WHEN : Wednesday, June 16, 2010, 12 :30 p.m.

WHERE : Dena'ina Convention Center's Kenakatnu Board Room

For More Information Contact: Michael Pawlowski in Senator McGuire's office at (907) 269-0252, Michelle Sydeman in Senator Wielechowski's office at (907)465-2435, Jeff Turner in Rep. Millett's office at (907) 269-0222 or Adam Berg (907) 269-0275.
Edit Module

Add your comment: