Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Governor Parnell Announces Redistricting Board Appointments


June 25, 2010, Juneau, Alaska - Governor Sean Parnell today appointed Albert Clough and John Torgerson to the Redistricting Board.

Clough, of Douglas, is a lifelong Alaskan and a commercial pilot for Wings of Alaska in Juneau. A registered professional geologist, Clough has worked across Alaska in the mining industry, including as vice president of the Red Diamond Mining Company, as deputy project manager for Kvaerner Environmental on the A-J Mine Project, and for the U.S. Bureau of Mines. Clough is a former deputy commissioner of the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development and served as an assembly member for the City and Borough of Juneau. He earned a bachelor's degree from the Western State College of Colorado and a master's degree from the University of Idaho. Clough will represent the First Judicial District.

Torgerson, of Soldotna, is the executive director of the Kenai Peninsula Economic Development District. He has held numerous public positions in his career, including state senator for eight years, Kenai Peninsula Borough assembly member for five years, acting deputy commissioner of the Alaska Marine Highway System, deputy commissioner of aviation, and acting director and business manager of the Division of Agriculture. Torgerson has also served as president of the Alaska Municipal League. He will represent the Third Judicial District.

Following each decennial census of the United States, the Alaska State House and Senate are reapportioned in accordance with Article 6 of the Alaska Constitution.  Boundaries for legislative districts are redrawn to make populations as equal in number as practicable while taking into account geography and socio-economic ties among communities. 

The task of redrawing district boundaries is carried out by a five-member board. Clough and Torgerson will join appointees of the Senate president, the speaker of the House of Representatives, and the chief justice of the Alaska Supreme Court. Legislative elections under the new district boundaries will begin in 2012.
Edit Module

Add your comment: