Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Calista Corporation Annual Meeting held in Marshall, Alaska


On June 5, 2010, Calista Corporation held its Annual Meeting of Calista Shareholders in Marshall, Alaska. During the meeting, the following incumbent board members were re-elected to serve on the Calista Corporation board:

Paul George Guy for Unit 4 (Kwethluk, Napaskiak, Oscarville, Napakiak and Eek)

William Igkurak for Unit 5 (Tuntutuliak, Quinhagak, Goodnews Bay, Platinum, Kwigillingok, Kipnuk and Kongiganak)

John P. Angaiak for Unit 6 (Mekoryuk, Chefornak, Toksook Bay, Umkumiut, Tununak, Nightmute and Newtok)

There were over 724,000,000 shares of Common Stock represented in person or by proxy at the meeting, which is 58.95 percent of the total issued. The certified public accounting firm of Sramek Hightower was the ballot tabulator and reported the results. These fully elected directors will hold office until the 2013 Annual meeting.

A highlight of the day were the five awards of Culture Bearer, Distinguished Shareholder, Elder of the Year and the Community Service Award presented to Calista Shareholders from candidates sent in by people from the villages.

Mrs. Lorraine Fitka and Mr. Alexander Isaac were both honored with Culture Bearer awards for their preservation of Native Cultures, healthy living, and encompassing the traditional values of trust and honesty to all people, placing family first and showing respect to all. 

Mr. Nick Andrew, Sr. was honored with the Axel C. Johnson Distinguished Shareholder Service award, for an individual continuously serving above their own self interests to better the daily lives of the people of the Calista Region.

Mr. Alvin Owletuck, Sr. was honored with the Calista Elder of the Year award in recognition for his work to exemplify and enhance the traditional values of trust, humility, service above self, and above all respect for self and others.

The Marshall Traditional Council was honored with the Raymond C. Christensen Community Service Award. This recognition is for a village, community or other organization in the Region that shows initiative bringing economic opportunities into the Region.

About Calista
The second largest of the original 13 Native corporations, Calista was established under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act of 1971 and represents over 13,000 shareholders. The Calista region encompasses over 6.5 million acres and includes 56 villages, which are incorporated into 46 individual village corporations. Calista Corporation is the parent company of numerous wholly-owned subsidiaries in the areas of aerospace and technology services; construction, engineering and telecommunications; hospitality, camp and support services; and marketing and communications.
Edit Module

Add your comment: