Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

2011 Iditarod Musher Sign Ups Attract a Large Crowd


(Wasilla, AK. June 26, 2010) The 2011 Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race first day sign ups began at 9:30 am Alaska time at the Iditarod Trail Committee Headquarters. By the end of the first draw deadline (3:30 pm Alaska Time) 46 mushers had signed up.

Five-time Iditarod Champion Rick Swenson, four-time Iditarod Champions Lance Mackey and Martin Buser, and 2004 Iditarod ChampionMitch Seavey joined a number of 2010 top ten finishers at Iditarod Headquarters for today's sign ups. Nine rookie mushers also signed up for the 2011 Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race.

Hundreds of volunteers joined mushers at the Iditarod Trail Committee Headquarters for the Volunteer Appreciation Picnic. They were served a barbeque luncheon by the Millennium Alaska Hotel (The Official Hotel of the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race).

Ramey Smyth (Big Lake Alaska) and Zoya DeNure (Paxson Alaska) won their $4,000 entry fees back in a final drawing that marked the end of the 2010 Volunteer Appreciation Picnic.

Go to www.iditarod.com for a listing of mushers.

Edit Module

Add your comment: