Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Governor Parnell Announces Appointments: 7/31/14


July 31, 2014, Juneau, Alaska – Governor Sean Parnell today announced appointments to the Alaska Minerals Commission, Renewable Energy Fund Advisory Committee, Wood-Tikchik State Park Management Council, and the Alaska Seismic Hazards Safety Commission.

Alaska Minerals Commission

Governor Parnell appointed Gary Reimer, and reappointed Bartly Kleven, Larry Westlake, Sr., Karl Hanneman, and William Jeffress to the Alaska Minerals Commission. The commission makes recommendations to the governor and the Legislature on ways to encourage the development of minerals in the state.

Reimer, of Eagle River, is the senior project manager for URS Alaska, LLC. He previously worked for the Bureau of Land Management in multiple roles as a programs analyst, field manager, deputy state director, and personnel officer. Reimer received a bachelor’s degree in political science from California State University of Los Angeles. He is appointed to a public seat.

Kleven, of Anchorage, is the manager of environmental permitting for Linc Energy Operations. She previously worked as the environmental superintendent for Fort Knox Gold Mine and as manager of environmental affairs for Usibelli Coal Mine. Kleven is a member of the Alaska Miners Association. She received a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from Montana State University. Kleven is reappointed to a public seat.

Westlake, a lifelong resident of Kiana, has extensive mining experience in rural Alaska. He has worked as a heavy equipment operator, construction worker, and continues to lead a subsistence hunting and fishing lifestyle. Westlake served as a member of the Northwest Arctic Borough Assembly for nearly 20 years, as the mayor of the City of Kiana, and on the board of directors of the Manillaq Association. Westlake is reappointed to a public seat reserved for an Alaskan from a rural community.

Hanneman, of Fairbanks, is the general manager of the Livengood Gold Project and director for Usibelli Coal Mine Inc. He was previously the director of corporate affairs for Teck Resources Inc., and president of the Council of Alaska Producers. Hanneman is a past statewide president of the Alaska Miners Association. He received a bachelor’s degree in mining engineering from the University of Alaska. Hanneman is reappointed to a public seat.

Jeffress, of Anchorage, is the principal consultant and manager of SRK Consulting Inc. Previously, he was the senior environmental advisor to Barrick Gold Corporation. Jeffress is the chairman of the Alaska Minerals Commission and board member of the Alaska Mining Association. He received a bachelor’s degree in agriculture from the University of Nevada. Jeffress is reappointed to a public seat.

Renewable Energy Fund Advisory Committee

Governor Parnell appointed Brad Evans and reappointed Chris Rose and Brad Reeve to the Renewable Energy Fund Advisory Committee. As the Alaska Energy Authority administers grants from a renewable energy grant fund, the committee assists in the development of eligibility criteria for grants and the adoption of regulations that identify criteria to evaluate the benefit and feasibility of projects seeking legislative support.

Evans, of Anchorage, is the chief executive officer for Chugach Electric Association. He serves on the Alaska Electrical Pension Trust, Resource Development Council, and Alaska Railbelt Cooperative Transmission and Electric Company. Evans received an electrical engineering degree from the University of Alaska Fairbanks. He is appointed to represent a large urban utility company.

Rose, of Anchorage, is the founder and executive director of the Renewable Energy Alaska Project, which began its work in 2003. An attorney by trade, Rose started his own law practice in Alaska shortly after graduating from the University Of Oregon School Of Law. From 1995-2004, he maintained a private practice focused on the mediation of family and business disputes. Rose is reappointed to a seat reserved for a representative of a business or organization involved in renewable energy.

Reeve, of Kotzebue, is the general manager and chief executive officer of the Kotzebue Electric Association, a position he’s held since 1988. He currently serves on the Energy Policy Committee for the Denali Commission and on the board of directors for the Utility Wind Interest Group. Reeve is the former president of the Alaska Power Association, Alaska’s electric utility trade association. Dedicated to improving community life, Reeve also previously served as chairman of the Northwest Alaska Boys and Girls Club. He received a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Kennedy Western University. Reeve is reappointed to a seat reserved for a representative of a small rural electric utility.

Wood-Tikchik State Park Management Council

Governor Parnell appointed Clifford “Keggie” Tubbs to the Wood-Tikchik State Park Management Council. The council develops and monitors the implementation of a management plan for the park with the advice and assistance of the Department of Natural Resources.

Tubbs, of Dillingham, is the finance officer for Bristol Bay Economic Development Corporation. He is also a councilman for the City of Dillingham and a Curyung Tribal Court Judge. Tubbs holds a computerized bookkeeping associates certificate from Charter Business College. He is appointed to a seat representing the City of Dillingham.

Alaska Seismic Hazards Safety Commission

Governor Parnell appointed Jonathan Owen to the Alaska Seismic Hazards Safety Commission. The commission recommends goals and priorities for seismic hazard mitigation to the public and private sectors.

Owen, of Palmer, is the director of public safety for the City of Palmer. He formerly served as a police lieutenant for the North Slope Borough Police Department and the Dallas Police Department. Owen serves on the executive board of the Alaska Association of Chiefs of Police, International Association of Chiefs of Police, FBI National Academy Association, and the Emergency Management Institute of FEMA. He is a recipient of the Medal of Valor and Police Shield Awards. Owen holds a master’s degree in theology from Dallas Seminary, and has been trained at the Quantico FBI National Academy and the National Fire Academy. He is appointed to represent local government in a seismically active region.

Edit Module

Add your comment: