Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Governor Appoints Municipal Advisory Gas Project Review Board


July 7, 2014, Fairbanks, Alaska – Governor Sean Parnell today named Alaskans to serve on the Municipal Advisory Gas Project Review Board, which was created by the governor to understand the potential impacts and benefits of a major natural gas project on communities throughout the state.

Department of Revenue Commissioner Angela Rodell will chair the group. The board will review available information, hold public meetings, and provide annual reports by December 15 of each year to the governor.

Governor Parnell named Mayors Charlotte Brower, Luke Hopkins, Clay Walker, Larry DeVilbiss, Dan Sullivan, and Mike Navarre to represent each of the boroughs directly impacted by the proposed natural gas pipeline. In addition, Governor Parnell has named Mayor Reggie Joule, Robert Venables, and Robert Bartholomew to serve in public seats.

Brower, of Barrow, has served as mayor of the North Slope Borough since 2011. Her career in public service has included the North Slope Borough Assembly, the North Slope Borough School District Board of Education, and appointments to the Ilisagvik College Board of Trustees, and the Alaska Rural Law Enforcement and Justice Commission. Brower has also served as the Barrow magistrate for the Alaska Court System. She holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration and management from Alaska Pacific University.

Luke Hopkins, a resident of Fairbanks for more than 45 years, is currently serving his second term as mayor of the Fairbanks North Star Borough (FNSB). He served on the FNSB Planning Commission for seven years and was a borough assembly member for more than five years. Hopkins attended the University of Alaska Fairbanks and continued his involvement with the campus for more than 35 years in various planning and operational capacities.

Clay Walker has lived and worked in the Denali Borough for more than 20 years and was elected mayor in 2013. He served on the Denali Borough Assembly for more than six years, and previously served on the board of directors for the local affiliate of the Teamsters labor union for 10 years.

DeVilbiss, of Palmer, is the mayor of the Matanuska Susitna Borough. He previously served as president of the Lazy Mountain Community Council, Mat-Su Borough planning commissioner, two-term assembly member, and as a two-term member of the Mat-Su School Board.

First elected in 2009, Mayor Dan Sullivan is currently serving his second and final term as mayor of the Municipality of Anchorage. Sullivan was born and raised in Alaska, graduated from West Anchorage High School, and received his bachelor’s degree in political science from the University of Oregon. From 1998 to 2008, he served the maximum of three consecutive terms on the Anchorage Assembly. Sullivan is the founder and co-owner of McGinley’s Pub in downtown Anchorage and has been a small business owner for nearly 30 years.

Mike Navarre, of Soldotna, is the mayor of the Kenai Peninsula Borough. He served in the Alaska House of Representatives from 1984-1996. Navarre earned a bachelor’s degree in government from Eastern Washington University.

Reggie Joule, of Kotzebue, currently serves as mayor of the Northwest Arctic Borough, having been elected to that position in 2012. He previously served eight terms in the Alaska House of Representatives. He also serves on the Institute of the North Board of Directors.

Robert Venables, of Haines, is the energy coordinator for Southeast Conference. He previously served as the Haines Borough manager, as the economic development director for the City of Haines, and on the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors.

Robert Bartholomew, of Juneau, is the finance director for the City and Borough of Juneau. He has more than 26 years of finance and management experience. Bartholomew previously worked as the chief operating officer of the Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation and began his career as a CPA. He holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from California State University.

Edit Module

Add your comment: