Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Wyden, Murkowski Applaud Passage of Public Lands, Energy Measures


Washington, D.C. – Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee Chairman Ron Wyden, D-Ore., and Ranking Member Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, applauded their Senate colleagues for passing a public lands bill and two energy measures last night –

the Vietnam Veterans Donor Acknowledgement Act (H.R. 588), the South Utah Valley Electric Service District (H.R. 251), and the Bonneville Unit Clean Hydropower Facilitation (H.R. 254).

H.R. 588, introduced by Rep. Don Young, R-Alaska, allows for the acknowledgement of donor contributions inside the Education Center at the Wall of the Vietnam Veterans War Memorial.  H.R. 254, introduced by Rep. Jason Chaffetz, R-Utah, authorizes the Department of the Interior to permit hydroelectric development within a Utah water project. H.R. 251, introduced by Rep. Jason Chaffetz, R-Utah,  transfers ownership of an electric distribution system from the Interior Department to the South Utah Valley Electric Service District.

The three measures will now be sent the President Obama for his signature. They are the first energy and natural resource bills to be signed into law this Congress.

Edit Module

Add your comment: