Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Begich Joins Inhofe, 32 Senators Urging DOE to Expedite LNG Permit Applications


Bipartisan Letter Calls on DOE to Stop Delays

U.S. Sen. Mark Begich joined Sen. Jim Inhofe (R – Okla.), senior member of the Senate Environment and Public Works (EPW) Committee, and a bipartisan group of 32 senators today in a letter sent to Secretary of Department of Energy (DOE) Ernest Moniz urging the department to prioritize and expedite decisions on permit applications to export Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG).

In the letter, the senators wrote: “We appreciate the attention you have already given this topic since your confirmation last month.  However, we are concerned that the timeline for considering these applications may jeopardize our ability to retain a competitive position against other natural gas exporting nations who are also working diligently to export LNG.  The fact is there is a global race for market share underway.  American competitors have been at a disadvantage for the past year and a half because DOE has delayed action on pending applications.  We are hopeful and optimistic that DOE will now pursue a winning strategy that allows the U.S. to compete effectively in this global market.”

“The economic and national security benefits of exporting LNG to our allies are clear to folks on both sides of the aisle.” said Begich. “Now is the time to give American producers the certainty they need to responsibly increase production and investors the certainty they need to invest billions of dollars to move our economy forward. I urge Secretary Moniz to expedite the decision process for LNG export applications.”

Members on the letter include: Sens. John Boozman (R – Ark.), Mark Udall (D – Colo.), Michael Bennet (D – Colo.), Chris Coons (D – Del.), Marco Rubio (R – Fla.), Saxby Chambliss (R – Ga.), Mike Crapo (R – Idaho), Jim Risch (R – Idaho), Mark Kirk (R – Ill.), Pat Roberts (R – Kansas), Mitch McConnell (R – Ky.),  David Vitter (R – La.),  Mary Landrieu (D – La.), Max Baucus (D – Ma.), Roy Blunt (R – Mont.), Richard Burr (R – N.C.),  Heidi Heitkamp (D – N.D.), John Hoeven (R – N.D.), Tom Udall (D – N.M.), Martin Heinrich (D – N.M.), Tom Coburn (R – Okla.), Pat Toomey (R – Pa.), Tim Scott (R – S.C.), John Cornyn (R – Texas), Ted Cruz (R – Texas),  Ron Johnson (R – Wis.), Orrin Hatch (R – Utah), Mike Lee (R – Utah), Mark Warner (D – Va.), Tim Kaine (D – Va.), Mike Enzi (R – Wyo.), and John Barrasso (R – Wyo.).

Edit Module

Add your comment: