Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Chevron Corporation Supports Press Freedom: Joins 2012 Courage Awards As West Coast Chair


WASHINGTON  – In a move to support press freedom around the world, Chevron Corporation will serve as West Coast Event Chair for the International Women’s Media Foundation’s 2012 Courage in Journalism Awards.

“At Chevron, we invest in strengthening our communities because business succeeds when people prosper.  A free and active media is essential for success.  Empowering women journalists is part of that equation.   The IWMF believes that no media is truly free unless women have an equal voice.   Chevron agrees.  By supporting women journalists, the transparency that is necessary for the success of our stakeholders – investors, customers, host governments, local communities and our employees – will flourish,” said Dave Samson, general manager of public affairs for Chevron Corporation.

Chevron, a long-time contributor to the IWMF’s work supporting women journalists, returns to play a key role in recognizing the outstanding bravery of women journalists and reiterating their commitment to freedom of expression by providing invaluable support for the work of the IWMF.  The 2012 Courage Awards will be presented in Los Angeles on October 29 and hosted by Cindi Leive, editor-in-chief of Glamour magazine.

This year’s Courage Award winners are Reeyot Alemu of Ethiopia, currently imprisoned on charges of terrorism after writing critiques of her country’s government; Asmaa al-Ghoul of Palestine, a blogger and freelance writer who has received death threats for her commentary on the culture and politics of Gaza; Khadija Ismayilova of Azerbaijan who was blackmailed and threatened after her investigation into charges of malfeasance against members of the Azerbaijani president’s family and  Zubeida Mustafa of Pakistan, who will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award.

“Chevron’s participation in the Courage event is a testament to their dedication to the IWMF’s mission and makes our work possible,” said IWMF Board Co-Chair Katty Kay.

The IWMF Courage in Journalism Awards honor women journalists who have shown extraordinary strength of character and integrity while reporting the news under extreme danger and hardship. The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a woman journalist whose determination has paved the way for women in the news media.

Edit Module

Add your comment: