Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Rep. Johnson Commences Chairmanship of CSG West


Sacramento, California - Alaska Representative Craig Johnson was selected as Chair of the Council of State Governments West (CSG West). He previously served as chair-elect and vice chair of the organization, as well as a graduate of its Western Legislative Academy. He also served as vice chair and chair of the CSG West Water and Environment Committee.

As CSG West Chair, Representative Johnson will lead the organization throughout 2014 and, along with Senator Gary Stevens and the Alaska State Legislature, will co-host the 2014 Joint CSG West & CSG National Annual Conference in Anchorage, AK. Convening August 9-13, the Conference will bring together legislators from across the United States, as well as legislators from the Canadian Provinces and other stakeholders, for policy sessions aimed at facilitating a robust dialogue and exchange of information on critical issues facing both the Nation and the West.

CSG West is a non-profit, non-partisan organization that provides a platform for regional cooperation and the exchange of information among legislators of the thirteen Western states. CSG West also strengthens legislative institutions through professional training opportunities and policy committees focused on issues affecting the West.  

“I look forward to working with my fellow Western legislators this coming year” said Representative Johnson. “CSG West provides legislators with invaluable training and an excellent opportunity to interact with colleagues in nearby states and learn from each other. For Alaska, and all Western states, close communication and cooperation is critical to ensuring our voice is heard at the federal level on important issues like resource development, land use, and water rights.”

In his new role as chair of CSG West, Representative Johnson will be supported by his fellow Officers that play a pivotal leadership role for the organization, including Senator Nancy Todd (CO) as chair-elect; Representative Jeff Thompson (ID) as vice chair; and Senator Kelvin Atkinson (NV) as immediate past chair.

CSG West member states include Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.  CSG-WEST also benefits from its associate memberships with the Canadian provinces of Alberta and British Columbia and the Pacific islands of American Samoa, the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands and Guam, as well as collaborative partnerships with Mexican border states. For additional information about CSG-WEST, please visit www.csgwest.org.

Edit Module

Add your comment: