Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Rep. Young Nominates Alaskans to U.S. Military Service Academies


WASHINGTON, DC – Alaskan Congressman Don Young today announced his nominees for appointment to the U.S. military service academies for the class of 2017. 

“Once again I am honored to nominate such talented young Alaskans for appointment to our nation’s military service academies,” Rep. Young said.  “These nominees have the making of successful service men and women who have proven themselves in the classroom, and have demonstrated exceptional leadership capabilities and strength of character, and I am proud to nominate them.” 

A list of Congressman Don Young’s nominees and their hometowns are listed below:

U.S. Air Force Academy - Colorado Springs, Colorado:

Joel Ackerman, Copper Center*                Nathanael Beveridge, Anchorage

Duncan Brewer, Kenai                              Kara Butler, Wasilla

Brandon Cameron, Anchorage                   Bo Choi, Fort Richardson

Brendan Flynn, Juneau*                            Susumu Jones, Anchorage*

Parker Merrifield, Fairbanks                       Mikayla Scarboro, North Pole

Ellen Sharkey, Anchorage                         Coleman Smith, Palmer  

Hannah Sponseller, North Pole                  Ethan Stobbe, Kodiak

Joshua Sy, Anchorage                             John Taylor, Fairbanks          

Timothy Thornley, Anchorage                   Justin Weber, Fairbanks

Thomas White, North Pole*                      Lida Zakurdaew, Anchorage

U.S. Military Academy – West Point, New York:


Thomas Antal, Fairbanks*                         Andrew Banez, Anchorage
Samantha Everett, Palmer                        Sullivan Gilley, Chugiak
Luke Heun, Palmer                                  Conrad Kress, Anchorage*
Jacob Miller, Fairbanks                             Barry Reid, Palmer     
Bennett Smoot, Eagle River*                     Delainey Stokes, Fairbanks 

U.S. Naval Academy – Annapolis, Maryland:

McKenzie Barnett, Kodiak                        Scott Browning, Anchorage

Christopher Campbell, Wasilla                   Brandon Kavalok, Palmer         

Andrea McDavid, Anderson                        Willa Nagel, Palmer

Joseph Rauenhorst, North Pole                  Mizani Rawhani, Petersburg

Thomas Muldoon, Eagle River                    Sawyer Rickman, Soldotna   

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy – Kings Point, New York:

Joel Ackerman, Copper Center             Thomas Antal, Fairbanks       

Tanner Evans, Anchorage                    Brendan Flynn, Juneau                   

Kimberly Holdiman, Anchorage            Susumu Jones, Anchorage*           

Conrad Kress, Anchorage *                  Bennett Smoot, Eagle River*
Thomas White, North Pole                   Jeremy Valero, Salcha

(* Nominee received more than one service academy nomination)

Edit Module

Add your comment: