Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Foundation Announces New Board Members, Staff Promotions


Anchorage -  Rasmuson Foundation welcomes Dr. Matthew Hirschfeld and Mr. Aaron Schutt to its Board of Directors. Schutt and Hirschfeld bring a wealth of knowledge from their respective sectors.

As president and CEO of Doyon, Ltd., Schutt oversees the business operations of the entire Doyon Family of Companies. Schutt joined Doyon in 2006 and previously served as senior vice president and chief operating officer. Prior, Schutt was an attorney for the national law firms representing tribal and Alaska Native corporations in transactional and business matters. Schutt earned his law degree from Stanford Law School and master’s in civil engineering from Stanford University.

Schutt currently serves as a member the Rasmuson Foundation Grants Committee, director of Akeela, Inc., and coaches youth hockey. Schutt resides in Anchorage and grew up in Tok.

Dr. Matt Hirschfeld, Ph.D., is a pediatric hospitalist and medical director of Maternal Child Health Services at Alaska Native Medical Center. Hirschfeld came to Alaska in 2005 from Seattle where he completed his training in pediatrics at the University of Washington and Seattle Children’s Hospital. Hirschfeld is the newborn metabolic screening coordinator for the Alaska Native Health System. He serves on several advisory and steering committees, and is program services chair and board member for March of Dimes, Alaska Chapter.

Hirschfeld earned his medical degree and Ph.D. in experimental pathology from University of Utah, Salt Lake City, and B.S. in biomedical sciences from Montana State University.

The Foundation Board is compromised of 11 directors, six of whom are members of the Rasmuson family. Schutt takes the place of departing board member Ms. Bobbi Quintavell, and Hirschfeld takes the place of Dr. Douglas Eby, whose two terms have expired. Rasmuson Foundation is indebted to its preceding board members for their service.

Several staff members have been promoted to new positions.

Sammye Pokryfki has been promoted to vice president of programs. Pokryfki will oversee all programmatic strategy and staff.

Cassandra Stalzer is now communications director. She oversees the development and implementation of the Foundation’s communications strategies and programs.

Aleesha Towns-Bain has been promoted to program officer. Towns-Bain manages the Sabbatical Program and Recover Alaska, a joint initiative of Rasmuson Foundation, Alaska Mental Health Trust Authority, Mat-Su Health Foundation, and the State of Alaska Department of Health and Social Services.

Sharity Sommer will move into a program associate role. Previously, Sommer held the position of communications associate.

About the Foundation
The Rasmuson Foundation was created in May 1955 by Jenny Rasmuson to honor her late husband "E.A." Rasmuson. Through grantmaking and initiatives, the Foundation is a catalyst to promote a better life for all Alaskans.

Edit Module

Add your comment: