Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Sen. Begich Announces 2012 Service Academy Nominations


U.S. Sen. Mark Begich today announced his nomination of 34 of Alaska’s finest young men and women for admissions to one of the U.S. service academies for the year 2012, the graduating Class of 2016.

“It’s always a great pleasure and very rewarding to see the outstanding young Alaskans who we become familiar with through the academy nomination process. Once again, I am pleased to be able to play a role in helping these fine young men and women find their career paths after graduation,” said Sen. Begich.

Senators are allowed to nominate up to ten individuals for each of the service academies including the U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, U.S. Military Academy at West Point, and the U.S. Naval Academy. The admissions office for each academy makes the final determination based on academic and physical qualifications as well as available space.

The following are the names and hometowns of the Alaskans nominated by Sen. Begich:

U.S. Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, Colorado:

                        Dylan Christianson                 Ketchikan

                        Shena Cousens                        Chugiak

                        Madeleine Dupree                   Anchorage

                        Ben Evans                               Palmer

                        Matthew Hatter                      Anchorage

                        Maegan Lange                        Chugiak

                        Andrew Liebing                      Palmer

                        Veronica Morthorpe                Eagle River

                        Joshua Sy                                Anchorage

                        Stephen Tankersley                 Anchorage

U.S. Military Academy at West Point, New York:

                        Samuel Burgess                       Anchorage

                        Daniel Fullmer                        Anchorage

                        Eric Guinn                               Eagle River

                        Derick Hanna                          Wasilla

                        Emily Hart                              Palmer

                        Elizabeth Herzner                   Nome

                        Yn-Sheng Hu                          Anchorage

                        Colt Richter                            Anchorage

                        Wilson Suzuki                         Juneau

                        Andrew Thornquist                 Anchorage

U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis, Maryland:

                        Alice Browder                        North Pole

                        Scott Browning                       Anchorage

                        Teresa Kennedy                      Wasilla

                        Andrea McDavid                    Clear

                        Adela Rivera                           Anchorage

                        Caleb Rynne                           Anchorage

                        Alec Tenne                              Anchorage

                        Rustin Thurmond                    Fairbanks

                        Ryan Tracy                              Palmer

                        Jeremy Valero                         Salcha


U.S. Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, NY:

                       Tanner Evans                          Anchorage

                        Benjamin Hladick                   Unalaska

                        Christopher Scott                    Anchorage

                        Joseph Zarlengo                      Petersburg

Edit Module

Add your comment: