Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Leisnoi Shareholders confirm new Board of Directors


(Anchorage, AK) With a turnout of nearly 62 percent, Leisnoi, Inc. shareholders put the finishing touches on an effort to regain control of the corporation and approve a new slate of directors. The vote came during the Annual Shareholder Meeting in Anchorage Wednesday Dec. 28. The election results confirm a similar vote in June that recalled the previous board of directors and established an interim board. At Wednesday’s meeting, the interim directors were officially elected to the following staggered terms, determined by random drawing:

  • Jana Turvey (one-year term) – to serve until the 2012 annual meeting
  • Shannon Johnson & Jeff Chester (two-year term) – to serve until the 2013 annual meeting
  • Debbie Lukin & Jay Baldwin (three-year term) – to serve until the 2014 annual meeting

Leisnoi, Inc., an Alaska Native village corporation from Kodiak Island, has been in turmoil with allegations of mismanagement by the previous leadership, strained business relationships and lack of communication with shareholders.

“The vote is a clear indication shareholders wanted a change,” said Leisnoi President Debbie Lukin. “Now it’s time to put the conflict of the past year behind us and build a brighter future for the company and its shareholders.”

This is the second time in seven months Leisnoi Shareholders have come together with a quorum of roughly 60 percent to set a new direction for the corporation. Shareholder discontent resulted in a special meeting June 14 in which the previous board of directors was recalled. The former board members challenged the vote, but in October the Alaska Superior Court upheld the election. The meeting Wednesday  should bring closure to this difficult process.

“We have come a long way in the struggle to regain control of our corporation,” said Jana Turvey, chairwoman of the Leisnoi Board of Directors “I’m proud of the courageous and enthusiastic participation from Leisnoi Shareholders in this process.”

At an organization meeting Thursday Dec. 29, the new Board of Directors elected Jana Turvey as Chairwoman, Debbie Lukin as President and Shannon Johnson assumes the roles of Secretary and Treasurer.

The Leisnoi Board of Directors wishes to thank Leisnoi shareholders for their willingness to participate in this important process to set a new, positive direction for Leisnoi.

Edit Module

Add your comment: