|  October 20, 2014  |  
Light Snow   34.0F  |  Forecast »
Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Feed Feed

BLM-Alaska to hold Twitter #tweetchat on 2012 Iditarod

Anchorage – The Bureau of Land Management is hosting a Twitter #tweetchat to discuss the 2012 Iditarod National Historic Trail and its centennial.  Musher Dan Seavey and BLM Iditarod National Historic Trail Coordinator Kevin Keeler @BLMAlaska will host the #tweetchat on Friday, Feb. 10, 2012, from 9 a.m. – 11 a.m. AKST (10 a.m.-12 p.m. PST/ 11 a.m. – 1 p.m. MST/ 12 p.m. – 2 p.m. CST/ 1 p.m. – 3 p.m. EST).  Tag with #iditarodnht2012 

The 2012 Iditarod marks the 40th running of Iditarod on the centennial trail. The Iditarod Historic Trail Alliance is sponsoring a “Centennial Musher,” Dan Seavey, to highlight the history of the trail, the importance of the communities along the trail throughout the trail’s history, and the importance of stewardship.  Dan Seavey has been a steward of the Iditarod Trail for many decades.  Dan mushed in the first Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race in 1973, started the Seward Iditarod Trail Blazers over 35 years ago, was a member of the Department of Interior’s Iditarod Trail Advisory Committee, a board member of the Iditarod Trail Committee, Inc., and a board member and past president of the Iditarod Historic Trail Alliance.

Stationed at the Anchorage Field Office, Keeler is BLM’s “trail-ologist” for the National Historic Trail.  Keeler and his BLM colleagues also take on a diverse set of tasks ranging from helping volunteer partner groups develop their capacity to work on the National Historic Trail, helping build safety cabins, clear trail and install markers that make trail use safer, educational and enjoyable.

During the #tweetchat, Seavey and Keeler will answer questions about the Iditarod Trail and dog mushing on BLM-Alaska land.  Members of the public are invited to follow the #tweetchat on www.twitter.com/BLMAlaska with the hashtag #iditarodnht2012.  Questions can be submitted to the BLM in advance by email at blmalaska@blm.gov or via direct message on Twitter.com/BLMAlaska. 

To learn more about the Iditarod and dog mushing, visit: http://www.blm.gov/ak/st/en/prog/nlcs/iditarod.html.

A Twitter #tweetchat is a pre-arranged chat that happens on Twitter through the use of tweets that include a predefined hashtag to link those tweets together in a virtual conversation.

The BLM manages 245 million acres – more land than any other federal agency. This land, known as the National System of Public Lands, is primarily located in 12 Western states, including 75 million acres in Alaska. The Bureau, with a budget of about $1 billion, also administers 700 million acres of sub-surface mineral estate throughout the nation. The BLM’s multiple-use mission is to sustain the health and productivity of the public lands for the use and enjoyment of present and future generations. The Bureau accomplishes this by managing such activities as outdoor recreation, livestock grazing, mineral development, and energy production, and by conserving natural, historical, cultural, and other resources on public lands.

Add your comment:
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement