Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

ORTAB Welcomes a New Board Member


Meeting is planned to score 2011 Recreation Trails Program grant applications

(Anchorage, AK) - Alaska State Parks is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Scott Lapiene to the Outdoor Recreational Trails Advisory Board (ORTAB).  Scott will be representing the Mat-Su, Copper River Basin, and Valdez areas on behalf of motorized recreationists. On December 02, 2011 the former Commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources, Tom Irwin, approved the nomination prior to leaving office.

The following is a list of current ORTAB members and their general areas of representation.  Please note that the Western Area seat is still vacant.  The State Trails Office will continue to recruit for that seat until filled.

· Ms. Jenifer Kohout (Chair)                                 Anchorage

· Mr. Scott Lapiene                                             Mat-Su, Copper River Basin, Valdez

· Mr. Andy Morrison                                             Inter-Board Liaison (ORTAB & SnowTRAC)

· Vacant                                                              Western Alaska

· Mr. Jeff Budd                                                     Southeast Alaska

· Mr. Steve Taylor                                                Northern Alaska

· Mr. John Rowe                                                  Northwestern Alaska

· Ms. Kate Walters                                               Individuals w/ Disabilities Representative

· Ms. Shelly Lawson                                            Southwestern Alaska

ORTAB consists of nine members that are regionally selected from areas across Alaska.  The primary purpose of the group is to advise the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation on funding for eligible grant projects under the Recreational Trails Grant Program and the Land & Water Conservation Fund.  Grant funds are used to support trail development and maintenance projects, as well as safety and education programs.

ORTAB will meet on January 21, 2011 to recommend funding for the 2011 Recreation Trail Grant Program.  The meeting will be held at the Anchorage Atwood Building, in Suite 240 (conference room), from 8:30 to 4:30pm. Please join us, public participation is welcome.

For more information on Recreational Trail Grant Program or the ORTAB please visit www.alaskastatetrails.org, or contact Bill Luck at (907) 269-8699 or e-mail Bill.Luck@alaska.gov.

If you are a person requiring special accommodations, auxiliary aid, or services and/or alternative communication format in order to participate, please contact Bill at least one week prior to the event in order to make the necessary arrangements.

Edit Module

Add your comment: