Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Murkowski Announces 2010 Service Academy Nominees


WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, announced Jan. 5 she has nominated 43 young Alaskans for appointment to the U.S. military service academies for the class of 2014.

"We received numerous applications from talented and gifted students across Alaska. It is unfortunate that there are never enough openings to accommodate all of our nominees," said Murkowski. "These are stellar candidates who have demonstrated excellent leadership capabilities and strength of character. It is a privilege to nominate them for admission to our five service academies."

Nominees were selected based on their academic record, extracurricular activities and potential for leadership. A congressional nomination does not guarantee admission to a service academy. Sen. Murkowski's nominees will now compete against other nationwide candidates for a space in the entering class. The service academies will make the final decisions.

The following is a list of nominees and their hometowns:

U.S. Air Force Academy - Colorado Springs, Colorado:

Alexander Babos, Eagle River

Brandon Cameron, Anchorage

Christian Cecil, Elmendorf AFB

Hannah Choi, Anchorage

Lance Cronin, Eielson AFB

Jared Isaacson, North Pole

Rachel Kennedy, Wasilla

Benjamin Lamirand, Anchorage

Keane Lucas, Wasilla

Miguel Martinez, Anchorage

Monica Nuernberg, Palmer

Dustin Pianalto, Wasilla

Patricia Rose, Palmer

Miss Rose was also nominated to the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, New York.

Karsten Schick, Kodiak

Samuel Sewell, Anchorage

Chad Speer, Wasilla

Mr. Speer was also nominated to the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, New York.

Dale Sperling, Eagle River

Ayla Stromquist, Sitka

John Thompkins, Anchorage

Stephen Turner, Eagle River

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy - Kings Point, New York:

Randy Adams, Anchorage

William Cullen, Valdez

Colin Irish, Valdez

Harold Jansen, Palmer

Kathryn Miller, Valdez

U.S. Military Academy - West Point, New York:

Estan-Charles Cabotage, Fairbanks

Eli Carlson, Juneau

Rebecca Cheek, Fairbanks

Matthew Higgins, Anchorage

John Knowles, Wasilla

Teppei Kono, Anchorage

Tiffany Marlow, Palmer

Sean Moline, Seward

U.S. Naval Academy - Annapolis, Maryland:

Alexander Barto, Juneau

Mr. Barto was also nominated to the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, New York.

Nathanael Brown, Anchorage

Crystal Green, Delta Junction

Robert Hoyt, Fort Wainwright

Mr. Hoyt was also nominated to the U.S Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, New York.

Laura Jungreis, Anchorage

Abigail Nagel, Palmer

Miss Nagel was also nominated to the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, New York.

Thomas Osterman, Kasilof

Bradley Truax II, Palmer

Crystal Reno, Ketchikan

Dalton Riggs, Anchorage

Mr. Riggs was also nominated to the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, New York.

Sen. Murkowski also sends congratulations to several Alaskans who received service academy nominations through either a vice-presidential nomination or by a service secretary. Alaskans receiving these nominations are Nicholas Castillo, Phillip Corre, and Michael Mirand, Anchorage; Cristine Kaufman, North Pole; Lawrence Perkins, Douglas and Jordan Roth of Eagle River to the U.S. Military Academy;  Angela Hartford of Eagle River, to the U.S. Air Force Academy;  and Ahmad Nasir of Anchorage to the U.S. Naval Academy.
Edit Module

Add your comment: