Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Faculty Members Receive Alaska Ocean Leadership Awards


Jan. 28, 2010

Fairbanks, Alaska—Two professors at the University of Alaska Fairbanks were recently recognized for their contributions to ocean science and sustainability in Alaska.

Vera Alexander, former School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences dean and professor emeritus, and Gordon Kruse, professor of fisheries, received the Alaska Ocean Leadership Awards during at the first Alaska Marine Gala held last week in Anchorage. The awards were established by the Alaska SeaLife Center.

Awards were presented in the following categories: media, industry, research, outreach and lifetime achievement.

Alexander earned the lifetime achievement award. Her career has spanned more than four decades and she was the first woman to receive her Ph.D. at the University of Alaska. Former Gov. Walter Hickel and his wife, Ermalee, sponsored the lifetime achievement award.

Kruse received the research award. Kruse is a professor of fisheries at the SFOS Juneau Center. The awards committee recognized his work on mathematical models and fisheries data analysis. The Alaska SeaLife Center sponsored the research award.

“We were delighted to be able to help recognize the great work being undertaken by these ocean heroes,” said Ian Dutton, CEO of the Alaska SeaLife Center.

A plaque recognizing all award winners will be displayed at the Alaska SeaLife Center.  The call for nominations for the next round of awards will be made in mid-2010.

About SFOS

The UAF School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences conducts world-class marine and fisheries research, education and outreach across Alaska, the Arctic and Antarctic. 60 faculty scientists and 150 students are engaged in building knowledge about Alaska and the world's coastal and marine ecosystems. SFOS is headquartered at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, and serves the state from facilities located in Seward, Juneau, Anchorage and Kodiak.
Edit Module

Add your comment: