Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags



Three grant programs provide opportunity for all disciplines, career stages

Anchorage - Today Rasmuson Foundation announced that Alaska artists are invited to apply for grants to support the experimentation, reflection and concentration necessary to nurture and foster their creative work. The postmark deadline for applying for an Individual Artist Award is March 1, 2009. Application materials are available on the Foundation's website, www.rasmuson.org.

"A focus of our grantmaking is to invest in people," said Diane Kaplan, Rasmuson Foundation president. "With Individual Artist Awards, we invest in those around us who express themselves creatively through words, images, materials, sounds and/or original performances. We believe that direct investment in artists themselves results in substantial contributions to the culture of Alaska that we all enjoy."

Each of the three grant programs features criteria specific to artistic discipline, and opportunities are available for emerging, mid-career and mature artists as described below:

Project Awards, which are open to all artists, of up to $5,000 support short-term projects that have a clear benefit to the artist and the development of their work. Examples might include travel and fees associated with workshops and other advanced study opportunities; professional documentation of an artist's work for submission to juried shows or galleries; and costs associated with the creation/installation of work that is scheduled for public viewing.

Fellowships, which are open only to mid-career and mature artists, are unrestricted $12,000 awards. In 2010, only artists working media, multidiscipline/new genre, music composition or visual arts are eligible to apply for a Fellowship. Fellowships support activities that contribute to an artist's creative work such as workshops; residencies; training; projects; collaborations; experimentation in other arts fields; costs of equipment, materials, studio space; travel expenses; and retreats.

One Distinguished Artist is selected annually with a $25,000 unrestricted award in recognition of creative excellence and superior accomplishments in the arts. The award recognizes the artist's creative output and contributions to the state of Alaska. Only mature artists are eligible for the Distinguished Artist award, and artists in every discipline can apply or be nominated.

Rasmuson Foundation uses the following definitions of artist career stages:
  • Emerging artists are those in the early stages of their artistic careers;
  • Mid-career artists have created an independent body of work, have made a recognized contribution to their discipline through public presentation of their work, and have been steady in their progression as an artist over a five (5) to ten (10) year period.
  • Mature artists are those who have created an extensive independent body of work representing a life-long investigation and maturation of their personal creativity. They demonstrate a high aesthetic level of artistic ability with a strong consistency of expression over at least a fifteen (15) year professional arts career.
In addition to general information, guidelines and application materials, the Rasmuson Foundation Web site allows users to search for past Individual Artist Awards to view recipients and some details of their projects.

About the Foundation
The Rasmuson Foundation was created in May 1955 by Jenny Rasmuson to honor her late husband "E.A." Rasmuson. Through grantmaking and initiatives, the Foundation is a catalyst to promote a better life for all Alaskans.
Edit Module

Add your comment: