Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Nominations sought for Distinguished Artist 2014


Anchorage, AK - Rasmuson Foundation is seeking nominations for the 2014 Distinguished Artist Award, recognizing superior artistic accomplishments of an Alaskan. The selected artist will receive $40,000.

“The Distinguished Artist Award is an opportunity to recognize the talents and contributions of extraordinary Alaska artists,” said Jayson Smart, program officer for Rasmuson Foundation. “We welcome the participation of Alaskans in this process to make sure our best artists are identified and their impact on our state validated through this award.”

Past winners of the Distinguished Artist Award are Teri Rofkar of Sitka; Rie Munoz of Juneau; Kes Woodward, John Luther Adams and John Haines of Fairbanks; Ron Senungetuk of Homer; Sylvester Ayek of Nome, and Delores Elizabeth Churchill, Ray Troll and Nathan Jackson of Ketchikan.

Eligible artists include those who have dedicated themselves for at least the past 15 years to a significant professional arts career of any artistic discipline. Artists should also have an extensive independent body of work representing a life-long investigation and maturation of their personal creativity. Their work is usually widely recognized and influential in style, aesthetic or form.

Public nominations of artists who meet the Distinguished Artist Award criteria are welcome. Artists can also nominate themselves. Nominations can be submitted online or by mail. Electronic and hard copy forms are available at www.rasmuson.org.

The Distinguished Artist Award is part of the Rasmuson Foundation’s Individual Artist Awards program. Since 2004 the program has distributed 302 artist awards totaling more than $2.3 million.

The Individual Artist Awards program also awards project grants of $7,500 for artists with short-term project needs, in addition to artist fellowship awards of $18,000 for mid-career and mature artists to advance their career.

Additional information is available by calling 907-297-2700 or 877-366-2700 (toll free in Alaska), or by writing Rasmuson Foundation, 301 W Northern Lights Boulevard, Suite 300, Anchorage, Alaska 99503.

About the Foundation
Rasmuson Foundation was created in May 1955 by Jenny Rasmuson to honor her late husband, “E.A.” Rasmuson. The Foundation is a catalyst to promote a better life for all Alaskans.


Edit Module

Add your comment: