Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Legislators to Focus on Critical Alaskan Issues at Energy Council


Four-day meeting serves as vital mission for developing Alaska’s energy resources

JUNEAU-At the end of next week, 20 legislators from the Alaska State Legislature will be heading to Washington, DC for The Energy Council’s 2013 Federal Energy and Environmental Matters Conference which will take place from March 7-10 in Washington, DC.  The Energy Council is a legislative organization consisting of 12 energy-producing states in the United States, four Canadian provinces and the nation of Venezuela. 

As current Chairman and most senior member of The Energy Council, Senator Bert Stedman, R-Sitka, has developed an agenda focusing on three themes: understanding arctic development in a global context, fossil energy trends and policy, and electricity and alternate energy development.   These themes will allow the council to examine several issues critical to Alaska including: Arctic energy exploration and transportation, U.S. LNG exports, Arctic shipping routes, federal regulation, and hydro development.

“The Energy Council conference is a unique forum for discussing energy policy with some of the most knowledgeable people in the world on these issues,” said Senator Stedman.  “We will also work to promote a better understanding of how global economic forces impact energy markets in North America. My goal is to get as many experts and leaders together as possible so that we can really target and crystallize the energy issues facing Alaska and the rest of the Western Hemisphere.”

“We are honored to have some presentations on the Arctic that are particularly important to us,” said Senator Lesil McGuire, R-South Anchorage.  “Energy Council is an opportunity to learn from other jurisdictions about their best practices, their tax structures, and their drilling policies.”

In addition to attending the conference, legislators will meet with Alaska’s congressional delegation, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, and other federal agencies.   This year, the Energy Council will also meet jointly with the Pacific NorthWest Economic Region (PNWER) and the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC).

“Participating in the Council is an important part of our continued efforts to develop Alaska’s energy resources and promote greater collaboration between national policymakers and our state,” said Senator Cathy Giessel, R-Turnagain Arm/North Kenai.  “These national conferences are where we enrich what we do and expand our knowledge base.”

Legislative members who will be attending Energy Council include Senators Bert Stedman, John Coghill, Fred Dyson, Johnny Ellis, Berta Gardner, Cathy Giessel, Lyman Hoffman, Lesil McGuire, Donny Olson, and Gary Stevens as well as Representatives Eric Feige, Pete Higgins, Shelley Hughes, Doug Isaacson, Gabrielle LeDoux, Scott Kawasaki, Charisse Millett, Benjamin Nageak, Dan Saddler and Mia Costello.

To see the agenda, please click here.

For more information, please contact Senate Majority Press Secretary Carolyn Kuckertz at (907) 465-3803.

Edit Module

Add your comment: