|  September 16, 2014  |  
Mostly Cloudy   56.0F  |  Forecast »
Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Feed Feed

Alaska DHSS Perinatal News Update

SOURCE:  National Institute of Child Health and Human Development

Here's an interesting opportunity to learn something about using the media and community outreach to promote infant safe sleep that requires only a small time committment! Check it out!!

*****

Dear Colleague,

We are pleased to announce that the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), part of the National Institutes of Health, is recruiting volunteers for the national Safe to Sleep Champions Initiative, which engages physicians and other health care professionals, parents, grandparents and other family members, caregivers, and community stakeholders to serve as spokespersons for the Safe to Sleep campaign.

The NICHD Safe to Sleep campaign launched in October 2012 and expands upon the successful efforts of the former Back to Sleep campaign to educate parents and caregivers about ways to reduce the risk of SIDS. The expanded campaign educates the public on safe infant sleep practices based on the most recent recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics. The Safe to Sleep campaign not only addresses ways to reduce the risk of SIDS, but also ways to reduce the risk of other sleep-related causes of infant death, such as suffocation or strangulation.

The goal of the Safe to Sleep Champions Initiative is to share the campaign messages about safe infant sleep practices through the use of media and community outreach efforts. The NICHD will host training webinars to equip participants with the information to serve as Champions in their local communities. The one-hour webinars will be held on the following dates: 

  • ·         Tuesday, February 26th at 12 noon Eastern/ 11 a.m. Central/ 10 a.m. Mountain/ 9 a.m. PacifiC
  • ·         Tuesday, March 5th at 3 p.m. Eastern/ 2 p.m. Central/ 1 p.m. Mountain/ 12 noon Pacific
  • ·         Thursday, March 14th at 8 p.m. Eastern/ 7 p.m. Central/ 6 p.m. Mountain/ 5 p.m. Pacific

To volunteer as a Safe to Sleep Champion, you must participate in one of the webinars. Please complete the attached registration form and submit it to Morgan Marshall at safetosleep@iqsolutions.com. The registration deadline is Tuesday, February 19, 2013.  

Thank you for your assistance in spreading the word about this great opportunity!

Shavon Artis, Dr.P.H., M.P.H

Safe to Sleep Campaign

Public Communications Branch

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child 

  Health and Human Development

National Institutes of Health

Add your comment:
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement