Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Legislators Announce First Meeting of UA Boosters’ Caucus


Group Will Welcome Chancellors Pugh, Rogers and Ulmer

(Juneau) The Co-Chairs of the University Boosters Caucus Representative Nancy Dahlstrom, Representative Anna Fairclough, Senator Johnny Ellis, and Senator Joe Thomas announced the first meeting of the University of Alaska Boosters Caucus.

Wednesday, February 10th at 4 pm in the Senate Finance Committee room, the UA Boosters Caucus will welcome the Chancellors from University Alaska-Anchorage, University of Alaska-Fairbanks and University of Alaska- Southeast.  “We look forward to welcoming the Chancellors,” said Senator Johnny Ellis “this will be a good forum for legislators to learn more about growing our own Alaskan workforce.” 

“The Boosters Caucus is an exciting opportunity to hear from our University system and learn about our campuses and programs,” said Representative Dahlstrom. 

“The University is a key economic driver,” said Senator Thomas. “I’m interested in offering the Chancellors a platform to discuss Alaska’s future in health care, engineering, education and resource development.”

On the agenda is an introduction and presentations from each Chancellor.  Following the Chancellors presentations there will be time for questions and answers.  “Our inaugural meeting will be a great opportunity to hear about the needs of the University and understand the challenges students, staff and the admininistration face” said Representative Fairclough.

The members of the UA Boosters Caucus are Senator Bettye Davis, Senator Dennis Egan, Senator Hollis French, Senator Linda Menard, Senator Joe Paskvan, Senator Gary Stevens, Senator Bill Wielechowski, Representative Berta Gardner, Representative Carl Gatto, Representative Les Gara, Representative David Guttenberg, Representative Lindsey Holmes, Representative Mike Kelly, Representative Cathy Munoz, , Representative Pete Petersen, Representative Jay Ramras, Representative Chris Tuck and

For more information, please contact Joe Hardenbrook in Senator Thomas’ office at (907) 465-2327, Kim Skipper in Representative Fairclough’s office at (907) 465-3777, Susan Wallen in Representative Dahlstrom’s office at (907) 465-3783 or Matthew Moser in Senator Ellis’ office at (907) 465-3704.

Edit Module

Add your comment: