Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Foundation Open to Public Nominations for Distinguished Artist Award


For Immediate Release

January 29, 2010

Annual $25,000 Award Given to One Alaska Artist

Anchorage - Today Rasmuson Foundation announced a change in the way artists are entered into the review and selection process for its Distinguished Artists Award. Nominations for the $25,000 annual award are now accepted at a new online nomination form, or through the mail using the form located within the program guidelines.

Artists may nominate themselves, or candidates that meet the criteria can be nominated by the public. The Foundation now only requires basic contact information and a short narrative about the artists’ accomplishments in order for the nominee to be entered into the selection pool. Artists nominated by others will receive notification of their nomination.

Mailed nominations must be postmarked by March 1. Online nominations must be submitted by 5 p.m. Alaska time on March 1.

The criteria for Distinguished Artist Award eligibility are: “Artists who have created an extensive independent body of work representing a life-long investigation and maturation of their personal creativity, and who demonstrate a high aesthetic level of artistic ability with a strong consistency of expression over at least a 15 year professional arts career.” Artists working in any genre are eligible for the award.

Past Distinguished Artist Award recipients are:

· Nathan Jackson (2009)

· Ron Senungetuk (2008)

· Rie Muñoz, (2007)

· Delores Churchill (2006)

· John Haines (2005)

· Sylvester Ayek (2004)

The Distinguished Artist Award is one of three categories within Rasmuson Foundation’s Individual Artist Awards Program. Since 2004, the Foundation has made 170 awards totaling $1,221,317 directly to support the creative work of artists.

Learn more about the Individual Artists Awards here. Search past recipients and grants here.

About the Foundation

The Rasmuson Foundation was created in May 1955 by Jenny Rasmuson to honor her late husband "E.A." Rasmuson. Through grantmaking and initiatives, the Foundation is a catalyst to promote a better life for all Alaskans.

Edit Module

Add your comment: