Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Energy Committee Progresses on Energy Policy


Co-Chair Edgmon discusses pathway to cohesive state energy strategy

(Juneau) - Today (Feb. 2) the House Special Committee on Energy passed HB 306, a proposal aimed at laying the foundation for solid and efficient energy strategy in the state.

Co-Chair Bryce Edgmon discusses the methods used over the 2009 Legislative Interim to construct the plan, crediting the public with coming forth and taking part in starting the fundamentals of tackling a tremendous issue on the minds of all Alaska businesses, workers and residents.

HB 306 now heads to the House Resources Committee for approval.

Sponsor Statement: House Bill 306
State Energy Policy
Sponsored by the House Energy Special Committee

Rep. Charisse Millett (R-30)
Co-Chair, (H) ENE Com.
Ak Majority Organization

Rep. Bryce Edgmon (D-37)
Co-Chair, (H) ENE Com.
Chair, (H) FSH Com.
Ak Majority Organization

"An Act declaring a state energy policy."

Posted: January 25, 2010
Status: (H) ENE : 2010-01-19

Creating a state energy policy is one of the first steps to meeting the state's energy current and future needs. A comprehensive energy policy in statute will serve as a blueprint for future generations of Alaskans.

The House Special Committee on Energy Co-chairs Rep. Bryce Edgmon, D-Dillingham and Rep. Charisse Millett, R-Anchorage used a unique method to draft the bill - they didn't write it.

Instead, they assembled a diverse group of Alaskans with decades of experience in energy policy to come together and write what they believed would make a good energy policy for Alaska.

Sixteen respected Alaskans participated in The House Energy Stakeholders Group:

* Gwen Holdmann, Alaska Center for Energy & Power
* Robert Venables, Southeast Conference
* Scott Goldsmith, ISER
* Jason Brune, Resource Development Council
* John Davies, Alaska Cold Climate Housing Research Center
* Ralph Anderson, Bristol Bay Native Association
* Bill Popp, Anchorage Economic Development Council
* Bob Pawlowski, Denali Commission
* Denali Daniels, Denali Commission
* Caitlin Higgins, Alaska Conservation Alliance
* Stacy Schubert, Municipality of Anchorage
* Kathie Wasserman, Alaska Municipal League
* Marilyn Leland, Alaska Power Authority
* Meera Kohler, Alaska Village Electric Cooperative
* Ron Miller, Energy Consultant
* Chris Rose, Renewable Energy Alaska Project

The result of their hard work is House Bill 306. The draft energy policy carries five core fundamental principles to guide the state moving forward:

* Promote energy efficiency and conservation
* Promote development of renewable and non-renewable energy resources
* Promote economic development through cost-effective, long-term sources of energy for communities statewide
* Support energy research, education, and workforce development
* Support coordination of governmental functions, which promotes streamlining of regulatory processes and overall coordination of efforts by all levels of government

If passed, Alaska will join many other states in having a statewide energy policy on the books.

Edit Module

Add your comment: