Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Applications for Rasmuson Foundation’s Individual Artist Awards grants program accepted starting January 1, 2014


Anchorage - Applications for Rasmuson Foundation’s annual Individual Artist Awards grants program will be accepted starting January 1, 2014. These grant awards go directly to artists to support the development of new work or for activities that advance creative development.

Individual Artist Awards provide support Alaska artists in ten artistic disciplines at all stages of their careers and creative development.

Awards are made in three categories – project awards, artist fellowship awards and the Distinguished Artist award. Project awards ($7,500) are for artists with short-term project needs. Fellowships ($18,000) are awarded to mid-career and mature artists to advance their careers. The Distinguished Artist award ($40,000) recognizes creative excellence and superior accomplishments. Artists may apply for only one type of award. Anyone may nominate a candidate for the Distinguished Artist Award.

“These awards allow Alaska artists to pursue their individual passions and artistic growth,” said Jayson Smart, program officer for Rasmuson Foundation. “The awards are for the artists to advance themselves in their own artistic practice and to foster creativity in Alaska’s art community.”

Rasmuson Foundation created the Individual Artist Awards to encourage the growth of serious artists, helping them continue to create, experiment and contribute art to Alaska communities. In 2013, Rasmuson Foundation awarded $400,00 to 35 artists statewide. Since 2004, the Individual Artist Awards program has awarded 302 grants, of $2.3 million, directly to Alaska artists.

Project awards may be in any of 10 artistic disciplines: choreography, crafts, folk and traditional arts, literary arts/scriptworks, media arts, multidiscipline/new genre, music composition, performance art, presentation/interpretation, and visual arts.
Fellowship awards rotate. For 2014, fellowships will only be awarded in media arts, multidiscipline/new genre, music composition, presentation/interpretation, and visual arts.

Applications may be filed online on the Rasmuson Foundation website by 11:59 p.m., March 1. Applications sent by mail must be postmarked by March 1. Applications delivered to the office must be received by 5 p.m., Friday, Feb. 28. Eligible applicants are Alaska residents of two or more years who have not won an Individual Artist Award in the past three years and are 18 years or older.
Applicants may also call (907) 297-2700 or (877) 366-2700 (toll free in Alaska) for additional information or to request an application.

About the Foundation

Rasmuson Foundation was created in May 1955 by Jenny Rasmuson to honor her late husband, “E.A.” Rasmuson. The Foundation is a catalyst to promote a better life for all Alaskans.


Edit Module

Add your comment: