Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

State Names Delegates to U.S. Senate Youth Program


JUNEAU - Madison Manning, a senior at Meshik School in Port Heiden in the
Lake & Peninsula School District, and Thomas Krasnican, a junior at Service
High School in the Anchorage School District, are Alaska's delegates to the
United States Senate Youth Program for the 2012-2013 school year, Alaska
Education Commissioner Mike Hanley announced.

The first alternate is Emelia Van Wyhe, a senior at Kenny Lake School in
Copper Center in the Copper River School District; the second alternate is
Sophie Clark, a senior at Klawock High School in the Klawock City School
District. An alternate would serve if a selected delegate cannot serve.

"Congratulations to Alaska's delegates and alternates to the prestigious
United States Senate Youth Program. It was difficult to choose from among so
many talented and engaged students," said Commissioner Hanley. "They
represent the many students who strive to make their schools and communities
better places."

The United States Senate Youth Program recognizes high school juniors and
seniors serving in student government who display outstanding leadership,
academic achievement, community service, and the ability to read, write, and
think clearly and effectively.

The selection process is based on two essays, academic transcripts, college
admission test scores, and two letters of recommendation. The Alaska
delegates were chosen from 18 applicants.

The program brings together the highest-level officials from each branch of
the federal government and an outstanding group of high school students for
a week of educational activities in Washington, D.C. from March 9-16, 2013.
Each student receives a $5,000 college scholarship. The program is funded by
the Hearst Foundation.

Madison Manning serves as her student body president, a representative on
the local school board, and the student member of the State Board of
Education & Early Development. She is a member of the board of the Alaska
Association of Student Governments and is an intern with the Port Heiden
Native Council.

Thomas Krasnican is the media/communications representative to his student
government and a board member of the National Honor Society. He is varsity
captain for the swim team and is active in the Boy Scouts of America's
National Youth Leadership Training Program.

Emelia Van Wyhe is student council president and a member of the National
Honor Society and Tri-M Music Honor Society. She participated in the
Conference of Young Alaskans and was one of nine girls nationwide to
participate in the Girls on Ice Science and Mountaineering Leadership

Sophie Clark is her student body president and a former parliamentarian and
vice president of the Alaska Association of Student Governments. She has
interned with state Sen. Albert Kookesh and served in a mission to Tonga.

Alaska students interested in applying for the 2014 program should see
www.ussenateyouth.org. Applications are generally available in early
Edit Module

Add your comment: