Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Senator Murkowski Announces 2013 Service Academy Nominations


Nominees “Embody Strength of Character and Depth of Knowledge”

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senator Lisa Murkowski today proudly announced the names of 33 Alaska high school seniors she is nominating for appointment to the U.S. military service academies for the class of 2017.

“This year’s group of highly motivated men and women embody the strength of character and depth of knowledge we expect to see in our future leaders – both in the armed forces and in our communities,” Murkowski said. “Each and every year, I am honored to nominate such accomplished Alaskans to our service academies.  Young men and women like them are the reason Alaska’s future is so bright.”

Nominees are selected based on their academic record, extracurricular activities and leadership capacity. Senator Murkowski’s nominees will now compete against other candidates nationwide for a spot in the entering class. Though a congressional nomination to a service academy is an accomplishment within itself, it does not guarantee admission; service academies will make final decisions.

Senator Murkowski’s 2013 Service Academy nominees and their hometowns are:

U.S. Air Force Academy - Colorado Springs, Colorado:

Joel Ackerman, Copper Center*         Brandon Cameron, Anchorage

Brendan Flynn, Juneau*                     Kyle Phillips, Juneau*

Mikayla Scarboro, North Pole            Coleman Smith, Palmer

Hannah Sponseller, North Pole           Ethan Stobbe, Kodiak*

Joshua Sy, Anchorage                         Timothy Thornley, Anchorage

U.S. Military Academy – West Point, New York:

Thomas Antal, Fairbanks*                  Andrew Banez, Anchorage

Nathanael Beveridge                          Duncan Brewer, Kenai*

Samantha Everett, Palmer                   Sullivan Gilley, Chugiak*

Derick Hanna, Wasilla                        Luke Heun, Palmer

Jacob Miller, Fairbanks                       Delainey Stokes, Fairbanks 

U.S. Naval Academy – Annapolis, Maryland:

McKenzie Barnett, Kodiak                 Scott Browning, Anchorage

Kara Butler, Wasilla                            Susumu Jones, Anchorage

Brandon Kavalok, Palmer                   Conrad Kress, Anchorage

Joseph Rauenhorst, North Pole           Mizani Rawhani, Petersburg

Sawyer Rickman, Soldotna                Jeremy Valero, Salcha

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy – Kings Point, New York:

Joel Ackerman, Copper Center           Thomas Antal, Fairbanks       

Duncan Brewer, Kenai                       Tanner Evans, Anchorage

Brendan Flynn, Juneau                       Sullivan Gilley, Chugiak

Willa Nagel, Palmer                            Kyle Phillips, Juneau

Ethan Stobbe, Kodiak                        Thomas White, North Pole 

(* Nominee received more than one service academy nomination)

Edit Module

Add your comment: