Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Congressman Young Named Subcommittee Chairman


Washington, D.C. - Alaskan Congressman Don Young has been named Chairman of the Subcommittee on Indian and Alaska Native Affairs, a newly established subcommittee under the House Natural Resources Committee.  Oversight and legislative responsibilities for Indian and Alaska Native matters were previously handled by the Full Committee.  

"After much discussion with Chairman Hastings on this issue, I am very pleased that he chose to establish this new subcommittee so that the many important issues that affect the Indian and Alaska Native population may be given the proper attention," said Rep. Young.  "I am honored to be chairing the subcommittee as I am now in a great position to assist Alaska and our country.  I am excited by the new challenge and look forward to working with Chairman Hastings in the 112th Congress."   

"Don has unique and personal experience with Native affairs over his many years serving the State of Alaska and his reputation in tribal communities and Native villages is well established," said Chairman Hastings (R-WA).  "He brings a wealth of knowledge to this position and will ensure that tribal issues receive the proper focus and attention."

For the press release on Subcommittee Chairmen sent by the House Committee on Natural Resources, see below.

Hastings Announces Natural Resources Subcommittee Chairs

Establishes new Indian and Alaska Native Affairs Subcommittee

WASHINGTON D.C. - House Natural Resources Committee Chairman‐elect Doc Hastings
(WA‐04) today named subcommittee chairmen for the 112th Congress. He also announced
the establishment a new Subcommittee on Indian and Alaska Native Affairs.

Article I, Section 8, Clause 3 of the Constitution delegates to Congress the power to regulate
trade with Indian tribes, and in the House of Representatives the Natural Resources
Committee is assigned jurisdiction over this power. Oversight and legislative
responsibilities for Indian and Alaska Native matters were previously handled by the Full

"These Members bring a tremendous amount of experience and knowledge to their
subcommittees," said Hastings. "Each subcommittee chairman will play a crucial role in
conducting thoughtful oversight of the Administration's decisions and promoting sensible
natural resources policies that will create jobs, strengthen our economy, reduce spending and
protect our environment.

"The creation of a subcommittee specifically dedicated to tribal matters will promote
increased consultation on legislation concerning Indians and Alaska Natives. The
subcommittee will focus on developing tribal economies and reducing federal obstacles that
block tribal job creation and the production of new wealth and investments on Indian lands."

Natural Resources Subcommittee Chairmen for the 112th Congress (listed in
alphabetical order by subcommittee):

Subcommittee on Energy and Mineral Resources
Chairman: Doug Lamborn (CO‐05)

Subcommittee on Fisheries, Wildlife, Oceans and Insular Affairs
Chairman: John Fleming (LA‐04)

Subcommittee on Indian and Alaska Native Affairs
Chairman: Don Young (AK‐at large)

Subcommittee on National Parks, Forests and Public Lands
Chairman: Rob Bishop (UT‐01)

Subcommittee on Water and Power
Chairman: Tom McClintock (CA‐04)

Edit Module

Add your comment: