Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

AHFC re-elects Roppel as Board Chair


ANCHORAGE, August 23, 2013 - Alaska Housing Finance Corporation (AHFC) board of directors re-elected Frank Roppel of Wrangell to serve as the board chair at its annual board meeting in Anchorage August 21. Roppel was appointed to the board of directors in July 2003, and he has served as chair since that time. Roppel previously served on the Alaska State Housing Authority (ASHA) and AHFC boards for 12 years in the '70s and '80s. He retired from Alaska Pulp Corporation in 2001.

At its annual meeting, the board also re-elected N. Claiborne Porter from Anchorage as vice-chair. Porter has served on the board since May 2005.

The seven-member AHFC board consists of four appointees, each selected by the governor for specialties: Roppel (experience in the provision of senior or low-income housing), Porter (experience in residential energy-efficient home building or weatherization), Brent LeValley of Fairbanks (finance or real estate) and Marty Shuravloff of Kodiak (experience with a regional housing authority). The remaining three members are state Commissioners: Susan K. Bell, Dept. of Commerce, Community & Economic Development; Angela Rodell, Dept. of Revenue (Acting); and William J. Streur, Dept. of Health & Social Services.

Alaska Housing Finance Corporation (AHFC) is a public corporation with a long history of providing Alaskans access to safe, quality and affordable housing through home financing programs, energy efficiency and weatherization programs, public housing and more. Since 1986, AHFC has contributed $1.9 billion to the State of Alaska's General Fund.

Edit Module

Add your comment: