Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Alumni to honor Naske, six others at Nanook Rendezvous


Fairbanks, Alaska—The University of Alaska Fairbanks will honor noted alumnus, author and professor emeritus Claus-M. Naske, as well as six other alumni and friends, at the inaugural Nanook Rendezvous Awards Dinner Sept. 22 at the Westmark Fairbanks Hotel.

The event, part of reunion weekend at UAF, will celebrate the UAF Alumni Association’s annual award winners and bring together alumni and community members for an evening of dinner, music and dancing.

Naske will be presented with the 2012 Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Naske was born in Stettin, Pomerania and emigrated to Palmer in 1954. He attended the University of Alaska from 1957 to 1961 and earned bachelor’s degrees in history and political science. Naske met his wife, Dinah, while a student at the university. He went on to earn a master’s degree from the University of Michigan and a doctorate from Washington State University. Naske started his career as UA professor in 1969. His extensive research and published works documenting Alaska’s historical and political development have earned Naske a reputation as one of the state’s most prominent historians. Naske was awarded emeritus status in 2001, when he retired from his duties as a professor. He continued to serve the university as director of UA Press until 2004.

The Distinguished Alumnus Award was first given in 1962 and recognizes service to UAF, business or professional accomplishments and distinguished human service.

The association will also honor five other alumni and a university supporter during its 2012 awards ceremony.

The 2012 Alumni Achievement Awards for Business and Professional Excellence will go to Fairbanks businessman Bob Ritchie,' 76, and Alaska Department of Fish and Game sport fish director, Charles Swanton, '83, '84.

The Alumni Achievement Award for University Support will go to Daniel Flodin ’94, ’97. He serves as president of the UAF School of Management advisory board and is a supply chain manager with Alyeska Pipeline Service Company. The Alumni Achievement Award for Community Support will be awarded to Fairbanks Summer Arts Festival executive director Terese Kaptur, ’76, '86.

The William R. Cashen Service Award will be presented to Marilyn Romano, regional vice president, Alaska Airlines. The award recognizes outstanding service to the alumni association.

Donald Cook, ’47, ’54, professor emeritus and former dean of University of Alaska’s mineral engineering program, will be the recipient of the Lenhart J.H. Grothe Resource Award. The Grothe Award posthumously honors an alumnus for contributions in the resource, mining or agricultural fields.

Tickets are now available for the Nanook Rendezvous Awards Dinner. The event will feature a halibut or prime rib dinner, a short awards ceremony with Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce chair Lorna Shaw, and music and dancing with DJ Jim Matherly until 10 p.m. The Nanook Rendezvous is the highlight event of reunion weekend at UAF, Sept. 20-22. To purchase rendezvous tickets, visit www.uaf.edu/alumni/reunion/ or call 907-474-7081. The deadline to reserve a seat at the dinner is 5 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 18.

ADDITIONAL CONTACTS: Joe Hayes, UAF Alumni Association executive director, at 907-474-7081 or via email at uaf-alumni@alaska.edu.

ON THE WEB: www.uaf.edu/alumni/reunion/

Edit Module

Add your comment: