Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Temporary Flight Restrictions Issued for Anchorage Area Air Space


The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) announced temporary flight restrictions Aug. 16 for the Anchorage area Wednesday, Aug., 18., and into the early morning Aug. 19.

Pilots should reference Temporary Flight Restrictions (TFRs) and the FAA's website at http://tfr.faa.gov/save_pages/detail_0_9215.html for exact TFR details. The Notice to Airmen issued Aug. 16 at 2207 Zulu time (2:07 p.m., AKDT) includes three areas in the Anchorage bowl with varying times.

General overviews of the restricted areas include: Area A, a three nautical mile circumferential area near Elmendorf Air Force Base between noon and 3 p.m., and again between 8 and 11 p.m., up to but not including 3,000 feet. Air space will be restricted in Area B, a three nautical mile area near the Lake Hood Seaplane Base between 1 and 4:45 p.m., and again between 9 p.m., Wednesday and 12:45 a.m., Aug. 19.

Area C restrictions consist of a three nautical mile circumferential area near Merrill Field between 2:30 p.m., and 6 p.m., and additionally between 10:30 p.m., Wednesday and 2 a.m., Aug. 19.

Aircraft and pilots not included in the flight restrictions include approved law enforcement, fire fighting, authorized military aircraft, medevac and air ambulance services and others deemed necessary for safety or emergency reasons. Also, the only other aircraft permitted to enter the air space restricted zones are those that receive air traffic control authorization in consultation with the Air Traffic Security Coordinator through the Domestic Events Network.

Edit Module

Add your comment: