Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

National Hydropower Association Presents Sen. Murkowski with Legislator of the Year Award


WASHINGTON, D.C. – The National Hydropower Association (NHA) today honored U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) with its Legislator of the Year award for her support of hydroelectric power.

In announcing the award at NHA’s annual conference on Monday, the association’s executive director, Linda Church Ciocci, praised Murkowski for her commitment to promoting the important contributions of renewable hydropower resources, and, specifically, her work on the Hydropower Regulatory Efficiency Act of 2013.

Murkowski, who first introduced a version of the bill in 2010, was one of four lawmakers recognized for their work on the legislation. The Hydropower Regulatory Efficiency Act was signed into law by President Obama in August.

“Sen. Murkowski has been a long time champion of hydropower on Capitol Hill and has aggressively sought the enactment of this bill for the past few years,” Ciocci said. “Her tenacious support as the lead sponsor of the bill in the Senate was critical to its passage and the industry is truly grateful for her efforts.”

Murkowski is the ranking Republican on the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee.

Edit Module

Add your comment: