Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags

Matanuska Electric Association Announces 2013 Annual Membership Meeting


Palmer, AK – On April 23, 2013, Matanuska Electric Association members will gather together for their Annual Membership Meeting. This year’s meeting will again be held at Raven Hall on the Alaska State Fairground in Palmer. Doors open and registration begins at 5:00 p.m., and the business meeting will begin at 6:00 p.m. The meeting is open to all members of the 72-year-old electrical cooperative.

One of the highlights of the meeting each year is the announcement of the Board of Directors election winners. This year, two of the three “District” seats up for election are held by unopposed incumbents – David Glines of the Eagle River District and Robert “Bob” Doyle of the Susitna District.  The Matanuska District seat is being sought by Jamey Duhamel and Marvin L. Yoder. Currently, the Matanuska District seat is held by retiring Board Member Larry DeVilbiss. Also on the ballot this year are nine proposed changes to the association’s bylaws. 

For the 2013 election, MEA is proud to join the ranks of area cooperatives Matanuska Telephone Association and Matanuska Valley Federal Credit Union in allowing its members to vote electronically. To access the election website, members will require both a Voter Number and a password, each of which has been mailed separately along with complete electronic voting instructions. A Voter Hotline (1-855-761-9111) has also been established by the Election Overseer – Fosselman and Associates in Palmer – to ensure that any members with questions about the election process can get rapid assistance. As in previous years, members will continue to have the ability to vote by mail or in person at the Annual Membership Meeting.

Other highlights of the 2013 Annual Membership Meeting will include updates on MEA’s Eklutna Generation Station project and the MEA Charitable Foundation’s Operation RoundUp® program, as well as the award of nearly $20,000 in educational scholarships. MEA’s “Safety City” electrical safety classroom demonstration, and various alternative energy demonstrations provided by Mat-Su College, will also be on display.

A special item of interest this year is the cover of the Annual Report and Notice, mailed to every MEA member and available for download online at www.mea.coop. This year’s cover is a painting called “The Linemen”, painted by the Valley’s own Linda Henning. More information about the artist and the inspiration for the painting are found in the Annual Report and Notice.

Edit Module

Add your comment: